Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

Reply
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-06-2009
My Device: Not Specified
Accepted Solution

Replacing phone with exact same one

I have replaced my original blackberry pearl with a new warrenty one.  Neither my IT administrator nor sprint can seem to re-establish or activate my enterprise connection to the server.  Sprint / Blackberry have provisioned my phone numerous times, and my administrator has re-set my account numerous times.  My phone gets to the "Waiting for services...." message then eventually times out.  Can this have anything to do with the licensing of the software and the phones pin?
Guru III
Posts: 32,114
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry PRIV, Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook,BT Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: Replacing phone with exact same one

Can you browse the WEB? 

 

If yes then..

On the handset, go to:
Options - Advanced Options - Host Routing Table
and click Register now, and escape back to the home page.

Wait 2 minutes.

Then go to Options - Advanced options.
Do you have the Option Enterprise Activation?

If so then you should be enabled for the BES data plan. if you dont have the BES data plan then the option should be removed from the handset.

 

report back

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 12 and BES 5.0.4 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2012 Hyper V


New Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-06-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Replacing phone with exact same one

I did the registration in the "host routing table"

 

I do have the enterprise activation option. 

 

When I try to activate, it gets through the encription verification, but just hangs up at "waiting for services"

 

According to our server administrator, he then sees the pin from my phone come up on the server and the server shows it as running, but it never gets beyond that.  He has reset my account 3 or 4 times.

Guru III
Posts: 32,114
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry PRIV, Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook,BT Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: Replacing phone with exact same one

How long did you wait?

 

I am activatiing one now that has taken over 25 minutes so far and is at 80%.

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 12 and BES 5.0.4 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2012 Hyper V


New Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-06-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Replacing phone with exact same one

I waited until the phone timed out.  It usually tries to a couple of times then returns a message that says to contact my system administrator.

 

One caveat to this is that it is a new phone with a new pin.  My system administrator said that this should not matter, because when the account is cleared it shows one additional license available and my new pin shows up when I am trying to activate.  This said, when we got the phones he had to give the phone pins to Blackberry to get the license.  Is it possible that the server software is looking for the correct pin from the phone?

New Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-01-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Replacing phone with exact same one

when users receive new phones we usually delete the account that is on the server and recreate it and then try activating the phone.  I was told by a BB tech support person that you cannot use the same activate password more than 5 times.  you can also hard resetting the blackberry after the account has been recreated on the server

Guru III
Posts: 32,114
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry PRIV, Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook,BT Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: Replacing phone with exact same one

WOAH!!! STOP!!!

There is no reason to delete a user from BES unless it is the last resort.

I have not in 2.5 years deleted anyone unless they left the company.

There are other things to do than delete the user.

Many times it is simple but you need to do some leg work.

 

All you need to do is generate and email a new password from BES for the user. Or if IT policy allows do it via cable.

 

What do you show in apps logs?

Did teh ETP.dat file get sent and removed from inbox from BES? 

What are your SYNC and MAGT logs showing when you EA?

 

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 12 and BES 5.0.4 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2012 Hyper V


Guru III
Posts: 32,114
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry PRIV, Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook,BT Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: Replacing phone with exact same one


tlheirls wrote:

 

  This said, when we got the phones he had to give the phone pins to Blackberry to get the license. 


What do you mean? The license is not bound to a PIN or a user. It is a pool of licenses that get used up by users count.

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 12 and BES 5.0.4 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2012 Hyper V


New Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-06-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Replacing phone with exact same one

We have definetly used the same paswood more than 5 times.  We will change that and give it a try.
New Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-06-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Replacing phone with exact same one

The licence issue is me just grasping.  As said, I have two sides of the equation giving up.  My IT guy says it should be working from our server end. Blackberry / Sprint says the phone is properly provisioned and has the service books so it should work from thier end.  I sit here with a phone that will not activate.

 

If the license thing has nothing to do with it that is good as it is one less thing to deal with.