Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

Highlighted
New Contributor
My Device: Not Specified
Accepted Solution

Upgrade troubles: 3.6.4 to 4.1.4

Hi everyone,

I've just been given the task of upgrading my company's BES, but unfortunately I have no experience administering a Blackberry server.  When I run the 4.1.4 setup, I get the following error message after setting up the settings for the Blackberry Configuration Database.

"Only one BES is allowed per domain.  Please select another database."

There is in fact an already existing DB at the location I specify in these options (BESMgmt).  It seems as if the install program thinks I'm trying to create a new DB for my domain, while in reality I just want to use (or is it overwrite?) the old one from my v3.6.4 software.  Could anyone explain to me what's going wrong here?  Thanks a ton.

Guru III
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry PRIV, Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook,BT Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: Upgrade troubles: 3.6.4 to 4.1.4

4.1 is not a free upgrade, did you buy the upgrade kit for 999.00 USD?

You did not mention mail server but pricing is same.

http://na.blackberry.com/eng/services/server/exchange/#tab_ddetail_subtab_pricing

http://na.blackberry.com/eng/services/server/domino/#tab_ddetail_subtab_pricing

http://na.blackberry.com/eng/services/server/groupwise/#tab_ddetail_subtab_pricing

Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!

Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.

SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ