Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

Reply
New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-21-2008
My Device: Not Specified
Accepted Solution

Using BlackBerry as tethered modem/is BES touched?

Specific infosec/tethering question.  My company is considering allowing enterprise BlackBerries to be used as tethered modems (cost and security being the main roadblocks).  When a BlackBerry is used as a tethered modem, is it basically just using its cell link to allow data transfer?  I.e. does the datapath not traverse the BES?   Any general infosec vulnerabilities associated with tethering?

 

Thanks... 

Guru III
Posts: 32,189
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry DTEK60, Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook,BT Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: Using BlackBerry as tethered modem/is BES touched?

Cost is the major issue with most carriers, they want you to buy a air card.

 

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 12 and BES 5.0.4 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2012 Hyper V


Forums Veteran II
Posts: 2,744
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Bold

Re: Using BlackBerry as tethered modem/is BES touched?


besinfosec wrote:

Specific infosec/tethering question.  My company is considering allowing enterprise BlackBerries to be used as tethered modems (cost and security being the main roadblocks).  When a BlackBerry is used as a tethered modem, is it basically just using its cell link to allow data transfer?  I.e. does the datapath not traverse the BES?   Any general infosec vulnerabilities associated with tethering?

 

Thanks... 


 

First, they're BlackBerry handhelds; not BlackBerries.

 

Second, yes, the datapath is purely over the carriers network.  It does not go through the BES.

------------------------------
If you've found a solution through a post; please mark it as a solution.
If someone's was particularly helpful, give them kudo's!.


Get busy living, or get busy dying.

http://blog.port3101.org/hdawg/
Highlighted
Forums Veteran II
Posts: 2,744
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Bold

Re: Using BlackBerry as tethered modem/is BES touched?


knottyrope wrote:

Cost is the major issue with most carriers, they want you to buy a air card.

 


What was the point of this post?  You didn't bother to answer any aspect of the posed question.

------------------------------
If you've found a solution through a post; please mark it as a solution.
If someone's was particularly helpful, give them kudo's!.


Get busy living, or get busy dying.

http://blog.port3101.org/hdawg/