Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-08-2008
My Device: Not Specified
Accepted Solution

test on srp.ca.blackberry.net fails on 204.187.87.33 succeeds on 206.51.26.33

If I do a lookup on srp.ca.blackberry.net from my BES server I get 2 addresses 204.187.87.33 and 206.51.26.33.

 

When I do a bbsrptest -host 204.187.87.33 it fails and when I do bbsrptest -host 206.51.26.33 it succeeds.

 

It seems that the BES server uses srp.ca.blackberry.net and resolves it to 204.187.87.33 which fails.

 

This started Oct 6 around 7:00 PM and no mail has moved since then.

 

Any suggestions?

 

Ron

Guru III
Posts: 32,116
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry PRIV, Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook,BT Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: test on srp.ca.blackberry.net fails on 204.187.87.33 succeeds on 206.51.26.33

Did you try to Flush your DNS cache?

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 12 and BES 5.0.4 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2012 Hyper V


New Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-08-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: test on srp.ca.blackberry.net fails on 204.187.87.33 succeeds on 206.51.26.33

Yes.But perhaps not in enough places. I have several DNS servers  and have done nslookups from other locations (all inside the same ISP's network even if the client site was different)

 

Does anyone know if 204.187.87.33 is still correct and running at RIM.

 

It still shows up as a host for srp.ca.blackberry.net.

 

Did anything change on the 6th of October?

 

Is 204.187.87.33 a new server at RIM?

 

Nothing changed at the BES site and it has been running for a long time with no issues.

 

Ron

 

Forums Veteran I
Posts: 1,546
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: 8120, Storm, 8200

Re: test on srp.ca.blackberry.net fails on 204.187.87.33 succeeds on 206.51.26.33

are you connecting from canada?
*****************************************************************************
Click on KUDOS to appreciate our efforts and mark the thread RESOLVED if your issue is resolved.
New Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-08-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: test on srp.ca.blackberry.net fails on 204.187.87.33 succeeds on 206.51.26.33

yes

 

Forums Veteran I
Posts: 1,546
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: 8120, Storm, 8200

Re: test on srp.ca.blackberry.net fails on 204.187.87.33 succeeds on 206.51.26.33

does test network passes on Router tab under BB server config?
*****************************************************************************
Click on KUDOS to appreciate our efforts and mark the thread RESOLVED if your issue is resolved.
New Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-08-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: test on srp.ca.blackberry.net fails on 204.187.87.33 succeeds on 206.51.26.33

I do not recall trying that but we might have. Once we got the bbsrptest to fail on one address and suceed on the other we thought we had moved the problem out of the BES into something more fundamental.

 

I am wondering if the 204... is a new server with the IP that might have belonged to a spammer previously. I know that I set my client's firewall to block a lot of spam sources.

I am going on-site to look at the firewall today. 

 

Ron

New Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-08-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: test on srp.ca.blackberry.net fails on 204.187.87.33 succeeds on 206.51.26.33

It was the firewall blocking a spammer. I guess that the IP address was reassigned to RIM but the address was still on my list.

 

I fixed that and now both addresses pass the test successfully.

The BES seems to be happy to talk to RIM. It always was so I guess that it just did a fallback onto the good address when one was blocked.

 

It appears that I was chasing a non-problem but I am happy to get both channels open anyway.

 

The original problem of a "service blocked" message on the phone still is unresolved and I will do a bit more research before starting a new thread.

I will consider this thread closed with thanks to all who contributed.