Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎11-23-2010
My Device: Not Specified
Accepted Solution

Activation Query - Didn't need PIN Number?

Something just occurred to me.

 

When I watched the BES Express activation tutorial, it suggested that when I (as a user not an admin) connected to Web Desktop and connected a "fresh out the box" Blackberry, I'd have to enter a PIN number to activate it.

 

When I added my account to BES Express it generated a PIN code and emailed it to me.

 

Given I didn't need to enter it, what was it for please?

Guru III
Posts: 32,198
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry DTEK60, Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook,BT Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: Activation Query - Didn't need PIN Number?


hutchingsp wrote:

Something just occurred to me.

 

When I watched the BES Express activation tutorial, it suggested that when I (as a user not an admin) connected to Web Desktop and connected a "fresh out the box" Blackberry, I'd have to enter a PIN number to activate it.

 

When I added my account to BES Express it generated a PIN code and emailed it to me.

 

Given I didn't need to enter it, what was it for please?


you can activate with WEB destop manager and that does not require entering in a PIN, just a confirm that the PIN of you device is correct.

 

The mail might have been an OTA activation with a password ( confused with PIN) to activate Over The Air.

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 12 and BES 5.0.4 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2012 Hyper V


Contributor
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎11-23-2010
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Activation Query - Didn't need PIN Number?

 

The SIM's are supposed to just be on a BIS tariff so OTA isn't possible, however I think what you're getting at, and I think I understand, is that BES Express can still do OTA activation for a user on a full BES tariff, so that's why it sent the PIN, yet for a BES Express (BIS tariff) activation you don't need the PIN, just Web Desktop Manager or whatever USB method we choose?

 

Guru III
Posts: 32,198
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry DTEK60, Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook,BT Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: Activation Query - Didn't need PIN Number?

BIS is wired activation only via web DTM, BAS or desktop manager on users PC.

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 12 and BES 5.0.4 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2012 Hyper V