Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

Reply
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-22-2011
My Device: various
My Carrier: various

Odd Question?

Hi

 

I am very new to the whole BES world, so please forgive me for my ignorance.

 

I have a simple BES / Exchange install one one server.

 

For multiple reasons (none that will make a whole lot of sense), I need to install another BES instance (either full BES or BESX) on the same server as the existing install.  There are minimal users on the existing BES install, and on the new one I want to install, there will be minimal as well.  I need these two sets of users to have different SRP ID's - but I would really like to do it on one physical server.

 

The server is multi-homed (one network, multiple aliases).  I'm wondering if this is possible.

 

I am "envisioning":

-1 server

- IP X.X.X.1 - BES instance 1, SRP ID 1, Exchange instance 1, domain name 1 mail.domain1.com

-IP X.X.X.2 - BES instance 2,  SRP ID 2, Exchange instance 2, domain name 2 mail, domain2.com

 

There would just be one windows domain, obviously..  There would be 2 mail domains as specified above.

 

I'm considering arranging an outage window and, after a solid back up Smiley Wink attempting to stop the related services (database, etc) and reconfiguring / renaming things.  And trying a new install.

 

Obviously, it is not going to be any where near that simple.  Am wondering if anyone has attempted this before.  Or can tell me I'm wasting my time and to quit being so cheap and to buy another server.

 

 

Thanks in advance!!

Guru III
Posts: 32,116
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry PRIV, Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook,BT Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: Odd Question?

only one BES per server OS

 

create aVM or get another box for it

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 12 and BES 5.0.4 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2012 Hyper V


New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-22-2011
My Device: various
My Carrier: various

Re: Odd Question?

Ahh, the answer I didn't want to hear.  But an answer, and I thank you for that Smiley Happy

Guru III
Posts: 32,116
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry PRIV, Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook,BT Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: Odd Question?

Welcome, sorry there isnt a better one for using separate SRPs.

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 12 and BES 5.0.4 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2012 Hyper V