Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.


Thank you for visiting the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

BlackBerry will be closing the BlackBerry Support Community Forums Device Forums on April 1st (Developers, see below)

BlackBerry remains committed to providing excellent customer support to our customers. We are delighted to direct you to the CrackBerry Forums, a well-established and thorough support channel, for continued BlackBerry support. Please visit http://forums.crackberry.com or http://crackberry.com/ask. You can also continue to visit BlackBerry Support or the BlackBerry Knowledge Base for official support options available for your BlackBerry Smartphone.

"When we launched CrackBerry.com 10 years ago, we set out to make it a fun and useful destination where BlackBerry Smartphone owners could share their excitement and learn to unleash the full potential of their BlackBerry. A decade later, the CrackBerry community is as active and passionate as ever and I know our knowledgeable members and volunteers will be excited to welcome and assist more BlackBerry owners with their questions."

- Kevin Michaluk, Founder, CrackBerry.com

Developers, for more information about the BlackBerry Developer Community please review Join the Conversation on the BlackBerry Developer Community Forums found on Inside BlackBerry.


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-02-2010
My Device: 8700
My Carrier: Rogers

RED x when sending using BIS data plan

[ Edited ]

We have a user that has a BIS data plan, when they send messages while only connected to Rogers EDGE the message does not send, they get RED x.

 

If user is connected to local Wi-Fi (UMA), they can send messages.

 

I tried my SIM card which has BES data plan  in users 8900 and with it installed  they can send messages while connected only to Rogers EDGE.

 

I understand that BESx 5.0 works with BIS data plans.

 

Technical Info: 

We activated the users 8900 from a clean wipe using wired connection. There 8900 is registred in the BESx admin console and the activation completed successfully.

 

Wireless syncronizing seems to work while connected to local Wi-Fi (same LAN as BESx).

 

We have not tested other variations.

 

Other 8900 users with BES data plans work fine for sending on this server.

 

Any idea's?

Guru III
Posts: 32,250
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry DTEK60, Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook,BT Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: RED x when sending using BIS data plan

On the handset, go to:
Options - Advanced Options - Host Routing Table
and click Register now, and escape back to the home page.

Wait 5 minutes and try again.

 

 

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 12 and BES 5.0.4 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2012 Hyper V


New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-02-2010
My Device: 8700
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: RED x when sending using BIS data plan

Tried this but still get red x.

Is there information in the host routing table that we can look at the will shed some light. A message is recieved about registration is successful.

Guru III
Posts: 32,250
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry DTEK60, Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook,BT Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: RED x when sending using BIS data plan

Turn off wifi and see if the device can receive emails.

 

if it can not then I would bet the dataplan is not BIS, but a gereric one.

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 12 and BES 5.0.4 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2012 Hyper V


New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-02-2010
My Device: 8700
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: RED x when sending using BIS data plan

[ Edited ]

I think you are correct on the data plan, the invoice form Rogers calls it a "VP w/ Personal Email on BB" for $30/month.

Although the customer signs on to this portal to configure the Email accounts for there BB.

https://bis.na.blackberry.com/html?c=10&a=4

I'll call Rogers in the morning to see what it takes to get a real BIS account.

On further testing can't browse the Internet with it on EDGE only either.

 

Thanks.

 

K

Guru III
Posts: 32,250
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry DTEK60, Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook,BT Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: RED x when sending using BIS data plan

Could just be that they messed up the  dataplan, happens all the time.

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 12 and BES 5.0.4 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2012 Hyper V