Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-18-2012
My Device: BB
My Carrier: Optus

Upgrading from Express to Full BES

Hi All,

 

Since I have discovered from my last post that I cannot block App World, what is the upgrade path (if any) from the BES Express to BES (full)? 

 

Just looking for the best advise to pass on to my client.

 

Thanks.

Guru III
Posts: 32,190
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry DTEK60, Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook,BT Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: Upgrading from Express to Full BES

Once you install BES full, use transporter to move uses over which is part of the BRK.

 

http://us.blackberry.com/support/server_resourcekit.jsp

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 12 and BES 5.0.4 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2012 Hyper V


New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-18-2012
My Device: BB
My Carrier: Optus

Re: Upgrading from Express to Full BES

So can I simply install the full server version on top of the Express?

Guru III
Posts: 32,190
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry DTEK60, Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook,BT Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: Upgrading from Express to Full BES


buzza24 wrote:

So can I simply install the full server version on top of the Express?


no, the databases are not compatable. you can uninstall old BES, install new BES with a new database and use transporter.

 

or use a new server and use transporter while both are running

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 12 and BES 5.0.4 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2012 Hyper V