Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Enterprise Service 10


Thank you for visiting the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

BlackBerry will be closing the BlackBerry Support Community Forums Device Forums on April 1st (Developers, see below)

BlackBerry remains committed to providing excellent customer support to our customers. We are delighted to direct you to the CrackBerry Forums, a well-established and thorough support channel, for continued BlackBerry support. Please visit http://forums.crackberry.com or http://crackberry.com/ask. You can also continue to visit BlackBerry Support or the BlackBerry Knowledge Base for official support options available for your BlackBerry Smartphone.

"When we launched CrackBerry.com 10 years ago, we set out to make it a fun and useful destination where BlackBerry Smartphone owners could share their excitement and learn to unleash the full potential of their BlackBerry. A decade later, the CrackBerry community is as active and passionate as ever and I know our knowledgeable members and volunteers will be excited to welcome and assist more BlackBerry owners with their questions."

- Kevin Michaluk, Founder, CrackBerry.com

Developers, for more information about the BlackBerry Developer Community please review Join the Conversation on the BlackBerry Developer Community Forums found on Inside BlackBerry.


Reply
Contributor
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎01-08-2013
My Device: None
My Carrier: None
Accepted Solution

Adding New Administrator

In 5.0.2, you could log into the BAS -> click Administrator user -> click Create an administrator user to create a new user.

 

We upgraded to 5.0.4 and the "Create an administrator user" link is no longer present. How do I create this type of user now?

 

Thanks.

Forums Advisor I
Posts: 652
Registered: ‎05-23-2008
My Device: BB10 and WiFi PB
My Carrier: .

Re: Adding New Administrator

This link should be available, also in 5.0.4.
Did you try a restart of the BAS?
------------------------------
Find more information about Enterprise Mobility Management at EMMAdmin.com
Forums Advisor III
Posts: 1,481
Registered: ‎08-29-2008
My Device: Blackberry Classic
My Carrier: Swisscom

Re: Adding New Administrator

Which user did you login with? Even if you have the Enterprise Admin role, you can't add admin users or change roles.

Easiest is to login with besadmin and then create the admin user.
Highlighted
Contributor
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎01-08-2013
My Device: None
My Carrier: None

Re: Adding New Administrator

I did restart the BAS and I was able to add admin users before the upgrade to 5.0.4.
Forums Advisor III
Posts: 1,481
Registered: ‎08-29-2008
My Device: Blackberry Classic
My Carrier: Swisscom

Re: Adding New Administrator

Which you user do you login with?
Contributor
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎01-08-2013
My Device: None
My Carrier: None

Re: Adding New Administrator

I always log in with my user account. I don't have the BES admin account password (it isn't in the password doc) and I'm in the Enterprise Administrator

Forums Advisor III
Posts: 1,481
Registered: ‎08-29-2008
My Device: Blackberry Classic
My Carrier: Swisscom

Re: Adding New Administrator

The "Enterprise Administrator" cannot assign or modify roles. You need to be "Security Administrator" to create admin users and assign roles.

 

See:

 

http://www.blackberry.com/btsc/KB04889

 

Security Administrator(rim_db_admin_security):

This role can perform all tasks. This is the only role that can manage role membership or change sensitive security properties, such as licenses and encryption keys.