Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Enterprise Service 10

Reply
Guru III
Posts: 32,189
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry DTEK60, Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook,BT Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: BB Enterprise setup questions for Domino 8.5

I dont see the confusion, but I have been around BES for a while.Smiley Wink

 

So hopefully we can clear things up

 

Setup your server 64 bit OS and meet all requirements and install domino 32 bit then add in BES.

 

32 bit server OS will have issues when you add more users (2gig for 200) since it does not address RAM well even with the 3g switch.

Thats why 64 bit is better. And with BES, BAS, Domino on it you will wish you did it in 64 bit and had 4 gig RAM.

Ram is cheap so why not future proof it a bit.

 

 

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 12 and BES 5.0.4 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2012 Hyper V


Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎09-17-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: BB Enterprise setup questions for Domino 8.5

knottyrope..

you misunderstand me.. I fully understand the 64bit Windows2003 w/4 gig.

No problem...

 

There are two install versions of domino.

one for x64 the other 32bit.....

 

I have a server with Win2003 x64 with 12gigs of memory, running a 64bit version of Lotus Domino server.

 

So talking with you and reading pdf's etc.. there is no definitave answer whether BES supports the 64bit version of Domino. 

 

 

I am in the process setting up a  32bit win2k3 server , with a 32bit version of Domino and going to install BES as a test.

What I'm failing to understand is how is the mail files on the 64bit DOMINO server going to get accessed...

Do I have to install a BES "server core" process to run on the 64bit OS/Domino setup and have my 32bit install "talk" with that?

 

 

 

 

 Brett

 

 

 

 

 

Guru III
Posts: 32,189
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry DTEK60, Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook,BT Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: BB Enterprise setup questions for Domino 8.5

[ Edited ]

BES will not install on a 64 bit domino at this time.

 

The 32 bit version of domino installed on BES should be fine to talk to the 64 bit version of domino.

 

 

BES can be fun

Message Edited by knottyrope on 09-17-2009 01:23 PM

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 12 and BES 5.0.4 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2012 Hyper V


Highlighted
Guru III
Posts: 32,189
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry DTEK60, Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook,BT Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: BB Enterprise setup questions for Domino 8.5

check PM

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 12 and BES 5.0.4 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2012 Hyper V