Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Enterprise Service 10

New Contributor
My Device: Not Specified

BES 4.0 to 5 Migration in Mixed Exchange 2003/2010

Hey guys.  BES newbie here.  I'm about to embark on an upgrade and wanted to make sure that my plan is the correct one.  Any advice is most appreciated.  Here's what I'm thinking:

• Service pack 4.0 to 4.0.7 - this should be cake
  • Order a migration kit
  • Stand up a new VM with a fresh install of BES 5.0.2 with a new remote database on SQL 2005
  • Create a new domain account (besadmin) for use by BES 5 and not use the existing account
  • Assign all the necessary permissions needed in AD and Exchange to the new account
  • Attach the new besadmin's mailbox to Exchange 2010

So at this point, I'll have a 4.0.7 BES box and the admin account will have a mailbox on Exchange 2003.  I will also have a BES 5 box with a seperate admin account with it's mailbox on Exchange 2010. From here I can start to migrate the users using transporter.  Once they are all moved, I can decommission the old server.

Sorry for being long winded.  I'm just very new to BES administration and figured you guys might have some input.  Thanks in advance.

Guru III
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry DTEK60, Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook,BT Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: BES 4.0 to 5 Migration in Mixed Exchange 2003/2010

most looks good, here is some more things to look for.

By default, Microsoft® Exchange 2010 uses client throttling policies to track the bandwidth that each Microsoft Exchange user
consumes and enforce bandwidth limits, as necessary. The policies affect the performance of the BlackBerry® Enterprise Server