Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Enterprise Service 10

Contributor
My Device: Not Specified

BES 5.0 And Application distribution

Forgive me if this has been asked, I have done an exhaustive search attempting to find an answer. I think my ignorance on the terminology is why I can't locate an answer. New Blackberry 5.0 Administrator, I have about 10 years experience in exchange (5.5 to 07) so I'm not new to messaging and collaboration. I have the BES installed and working well (most of my users are happy). There is a feature that we want to use that I haven't been able to figure out. I've read the BES admin guide several times, and I've read numerous posts on other support sites. So how about we get to the problem already... I need to be able to push out java applications to the blackberry's and I just can't seem to figure out how. What I've done and currently have: 1. Setup an application (successfully added it to the repository) 2. Added this application to the Standard required application rule 3. Created a Software configuration with that application included 4. Assigned that application to myself for testing. After assigning it to myself, I get the response on my blackberry that the administrator has made some changes and the device needs to reboot. I reboot the device but can't seem to find the theme anywhere. The job shows successful in the BES. What am I missing? I thought perhaps that you can't push a theme through the BES, but I read somewhere that as long as its a java based app, it can be pushed. So I have to ask, when you push software, does it automatically install it, or does it just download the app to the handheld for you to install later. Also, where does it download it to? I've read something about the MDS colloboration runtime. Is this something I have to have installed? I can al