Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Enterprise Service 10

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎10-14-2009
My Device: Blackberry 8330
My Carrier: Bell Canada

BES 5.0 Migration to a new server

Forgive me, i try and do my research normaly and try and find the solutions myself (on knoledge bases, etc), but this one seems to elude me.  All i was able to find is the 4/4.1 cutover article.

Backstory:  Got one of the BES 4.x versions on trial to test out and see if it suited all our needs.   Ran fine.  When the time came to actualy move ahead, all that was available was BES 5.0 licencing.  Thats fine we went ahead and installed and upgraded and licenced everything.   The big problem is, the hardware we were running the server on, its a little older, it was running 4.x fine, but REALLY lags on 5.

So, what we want to do, is migrate everything over to another server (we have the hardware ready to go).

 

So, the current setup is this:
- BES 5.0

- Running with Lotus Notes

- Using the database that installs with the BES install.

 

 

What we want to do is migrate EVERYTHING over to the new server.  Moving the notes server install over is easy.

What i would like to know, what are the steps to move everything else over, move the database and bes over (do NOT want to connect to the database on the other machine), re licence everything, etc, hopefuly without having to re-provision all the users, etc.

 

Any help on this would be greatly appreciated.

 

Thanks

 

~Mitchell Johnston, a noobish BES user but learning Smiley Happy

Highlighted
Retired
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎03-25-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: BES 5.0 Migration to a new server

The best step for you is to consult the Domino Upgrade Guide:

 

Upgrade Guide

Guru III
Posts: 32,190
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry DTEK60, Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook,BT Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: BES 5.0 Migration to a new server

Since BES 5.0 is so different, I would set it up all on its own and once tested and running, use transporter to move users over which will not require any activation.

 

 

KB17538 - What is the BlackBerry Enterprise Transporter

 

Here is most of the documentation you need will to install and administer the BB 5.0 server:

 

Server 5.0 Upgrade Paths:

http://na.blackberry.com/eng/services/server/upgradepath.jsp

 

Server 5.0 Intsallation Support:

http://na.blackberry.com/eng/support/software/serverinstall.jsp

 

 

Server 5.0 Upgarde guide:

http://docs.blackberry.com/en/admin/deliverables/7315/index.jsp?name=BlackBerry%20Enterprise%20Serve...=

 

BlackBerry Enterprise Server Resource Kit Docs and Files

https://www.blackberry.com/Downloads/entry.do?code=D736BB10D83A904AEFC1D6CE93DC54B8

 

http://docs.blackberry.com/en/admin/subcategories/?userType=2&category=BlackBerry%20Enterprise%20Ser...

 

Server 5.0 Admin Tutorial:

http://docs.blackberry.com/en/admin/deliverables/7466/flash_start.html

 

All Server guides:

http://docs.blackberry.com/en/admin/?userType=2

 

Good luck and come back with more questions.

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 12 and BES 5.0.4 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2012 Hyper V


Contributor
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎10-14-2009
My Device: Blackberry 8330
My Carrier: Bell Canada

Re: BES 5.0 Migration to a new server

We already have the 5.0 installed on the old server.

 

So you are saying, to re-install 5.0 on the new server, then use the transporter to pull all the information over?

Does that pull all the CAL, server info, licences, etc all over with it as well? or is it something that has to be; turn off on old server, register them on new one sort of thing?

Guru III
Posts: 32,190
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry DTEK60, Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook,BT Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: BES 5.0 Migration to a new server

Ah, sorry mate, thought you were on 4.1.

 

then a knife egde will work better.

 

 

then do a knife edge, It is basically the same for 5.0 even though it is not listed.


KB10278 - How to perform a knife-edge cutover for BlackBerry Enterprise Server software

 



 

install the latest CDO 1.2.1 from here when needed.

http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyID=94274318-27c4-4d8d-9bc5-3e6484286b1f&Displa...

 

 

 

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 12 and BES 5.0.4 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2012 Hyper V


Contributor
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎10-14-2009
My Device: Blackberry 8330
My Carrier: Bell Canada

Re: BES 5.0 Migration to a new server

Ah, i had seen that document, but was not sure about it, as  you said, it does not show for 5.0.

 

Looks simple enough, will just have to check into to make sure i can do the database backup, etc to be able to move it over.

 

When you move the database portion over and then bring it back up, that copys over the licencing, CALS, etc at that point? (dont have to put any of that into the install on the new machine?)

 

Thanks

Guru III
Posts: 32,190
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry DTEK60, Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook,BT Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: BES 5.0 Migration to a new server

Correct CALs are in the database.

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 12 and BES 5.0.4 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2012 Hyper V


Contributor
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎10-14-2009
My Device: Blackberry 8330
My Carrier: Bell Canada

Re: BES 5.0 Migration to a new server

hmmm.. looking at it for the database part..

We are just using the SQL Server 2005 that installs with the BES installer... it doe not contain the Server Management Studio that was mentioned in the article:
http://www.blackberry.com/btsc/search.do?cmd=displayKC&docType=kc&externalId=KB03112&sliceId=SAL_Pub...

 

That i can see, there is no direct way to make a backup with what comes with the version that the BES server installs.

Contributor
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎10-14-2009
My Device: Blackberry 8330
My Carrier: Bell Canada

Re: BES 5.0 Migration to a new server

Now that i think about it, its 2005 express is it not?
Guru III
Posts: 32,190
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry DTEK60, Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook,BT Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: BES 5.0 Migration to a new server