Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Enterprise Service 10

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-05-2012
My Device: Unknown
My Carrier: Unknown

BES 5 new server - Handset reactivation?

Hi There,

 

I'm about to migrate approx 200users from a BES 5 SP2 server to a new BES 5 SP4 server.

At the end of the upgrade documentation is says  “After you complete the upgrade process, users must reactivate their Blackberry devices. Instruct users to connect their Blackberry devices to the Blackberry Desktop manager or Web manager”

 

Needless to say this will be a right pain for users that never use Desktop manager. Will it not be able to update them via the Wireless synchronization service? In fact will users even need to do anything?

 

Many Thanks.

 

Guru III
Posts: 32,202
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry DTEK60, Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook,BT Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: BES 5 new server - Handset reactivation?

Assuming they use a Differnet database, that is correct if you dont use transporter to move them and you will need to wipe them prior

 

What version Mailserver?

 

Do you have 2 SRPs?

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 12 and BES 5.0.4 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2012 Hyper V


New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-05-2012
My Device: Unknown
My Carrier: Unknown

Re: BES 5 new server - Handset reactivation?

Hi thanks for the response:

 

To clarify the situation. I only have one SRP and plan to stop the services on the old BES before starting them on the new one. The database is on a seperate SQL server so I wont create a new one. I plan to move the users using the Transporter before the switch. This is running Exchange 2010.

 

Thanks.

Guru III
Posts: 32,202
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry DTEK60, Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook,BT Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: BES 5 new server - Handset reactivation?

So there is only 1 BES database? Did you connect the new BES to it?

 

If you did then transporter is not needed. just move users over in BAS.

 

 

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 12 and BES 5.0.4 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2012 Hyper V


New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-05-2012
My Device: Unknown
My Carrier: Unknown

Re: BES 5 new server - Handset reactivation?

Yes only one database. I've not built the new server as yet but have every intention of connecting it to the existing database. The question really is what needs to be done on the handsets rather than the server. I have full control of the servers but the handsets are all over Europe. I need to know beforehand if users themselves need to do anything or it happens automatically via the Web Synchronization?

Guru III
Posts: 32,202
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry DTEK60, Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook,BT Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: BES 5 new server - Handset reactivation?

Easy way, install BES SP4 on old BES. Once is all good Then do a HA failover to the new BES

 

 

instructions are here for it

 

KB10278 - How to perform a knife-edge cutover for BlackBerry Enterprise Server software

 

 

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 12 and BES 5.0.4 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2012 Hyper V


New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-05-2012
My Device: Unknown
My Carrier: Unknown

Re: BES 5 new server - Handset reactivation?

As much as I appreciate your help the question that I really need to know is:

 

Do the users need to do anything with their Blackberry handsets?

 

I can do whatever needs to be done with the servers but have no access to most of the Blackberry devices.

 

 

Highlighted
Guru III
Posts: 32,202
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry DTEK60, Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook,BT Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: BES 5 new server - Handset reactivation?


robbac wrote:

As much as I appreciate your help the question that I really need to know is:

 

Do the users need to do anything with their Blackberry handsets?

 

NO

 

I can do whatever needs to be done with the servers but have no access to most of the Blackberry devices.

 

 


 nuttin zilch nada

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 12 and BES 5.0.4 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2012 Hyper V