Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Enterprise Service 10

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎06-16-2011
My Device: 9800
My Carrier: VF DE

Move BlackBerry Server to new Domain and Service Account

Hello Everybody,

we want to move our BlackBerry-Server to new hardware and domain in the same Forrest. The service account would be a new one in the new domain, too.

I couldn't find any knowledge base articles and no forum talking about that.

 

At the moment we use a BES 5.0.3 MR5 High Availability pair with Windows 2003 and 2008. The Database runs on a SQL-Cluster.

 

I know I can simply install a new BES and then move the users with the Transporter-Tool, but we got many groups, apps and different policies and I don't want to recreate them on the new server. Is there a way to export and import groups, policies and apps?

 

I just want to know if this would work or if there are any other possibilities to migrate our BlackBerry infrastructure to a new domain:

 

1. uninstall the Standbyserver of the BlackBerry-Servers.

2. move the hardware to the new domain and install the BlackBerry-Server as High Availability-Server, but with a different service account in a different domain. I would also install the BAS on this server too. - does that work?

3. Now I will switch to the newly added server perform the steps 1 and 2 with the other server, exept the BAS components.

 

Thank you for answering

Kind regards
Daniel

Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎06-16-2011
My Device: 9800
My Carrier: VF DE

Re: Move BlackBerry Server to new Domain and Service Account

Hello again,

 

To Point 2:

I mean: Move the uninstalled Server to a new domain and then install as high availability.

Does anybody have an idea?

Regards

Daniel

Highlighted
Guru III
Posts: 32,116
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry PRIV, Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook,BT Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: Move BlackBerry Server to new Domain and Service Account

BES 5.0 supports an Exchange Resource Forest configuration.

Good article on Exchange resource forest config
http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/aa998031.aspx

Multiple AD forests should be ok as long as

1) There is a two way trust between them
2) They are all within the same Exchange organization

 

SO as long as you BESAdmin account can access all of the domains, it should work.

 

but moving the server to a new domain isnt something that I think will work well.

Maybe install a new BES on the new domain with your new servie acount would be better and use transporter to move uses over....................

 

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 12 and BES 5.0.4 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2012 Hyper V


Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎06-16-2011
My Device: 9800
My Carrier: VF DE

Re: Move BlackBerry Server to new Domain and Service Account

Thank you!

If we set up a new BES and move the user with the enterprise transporter, is it possible to import all groups and apps from the old BES?

 

We also sete

Guru III
Posts: 32,116
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry PRIV, Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook,BT Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: Move BlackBerry Server to new Domain and Service Account

i never tried to move apps as i never pushed them

 

You can make the new groups an dmove users to them.

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 12 and BES 5.0.4 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2012 Hyper V