Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Enterprise Service 10

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎09-17-2013
My Device: Curve 9300
My Carrier: Swisscom

Needed Ports for Communication Module in DMZ

Hello guys

 

i've looked in the doc's of blackberry for the needed ports i have to have open, when i need to have a communication module in the dmz because the lan is not allowed to have direct access to the internet. 

 

is this correct, that in the actual version of uds i need the following ports:

 

lan -> dmz and dmz -> lan: Ports 443, 3101 and 8101

 

dmz -> internet and internet -> dmz: Ports 443 to BlackBerry Infrastructure, 2195 and 5223 to Apple Push Notification Service, and 443 and 80 to the Apple Root Certification Authority

 

Many thanks for a quick answer

Marc

 

 

Super Contributor
Posts: 475
Registered: ‎11-19-2013
My Device: BB Z10

Re: Needed Ports for Communication Module in DMZ

Hi...

 

check the below link. . 

 

http://btsc.webapps.blackberry.com/btsc/viewdocument.do?externalId=KB34193&sliceId=2&cmd=displayKC&d...

 

Thanks

 

 

Please update the result after applied..

Thanks
Contributor
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎09-17-2013
My Device: Curve 9300
My Carrier: Swisscom

Re: Needed Ports for Communication Module in DMZ

Hi Sameer

 

thank you for your answer. But i can't see the ports which are needed from lan to dmz, or do i missunderstand something?

 

Many thanks

Marc

Super Contributor
Posts: 475
Registered: ‎11-19-2013
My Device: BB Z10

Re: Needed Ports for Communication Module in DMZ

Hi..

I think the BES10 server is in the LAN and the BES router is in the DMZ...

Then you have to open the ports mentioned in the article from server to router then from router to outside for public IPs. .

Then you have to telnet the ports from server to router and then router to outside..

Eg: telnet bes-router-IP 3101.
Then telnet Bb-infrastructure-public ip 3101

The above tests the connectivity from server to outside. . Similarly for all the same applies..

Thanks
Please update the result after applied..

Thanks
Contributor
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎09-17-2013
My Device: Curve 9300
My Carrier: Swisscom

Re: Needed Ports for Communication Module in DMZ

Hi Sameer

 

i already have configured my BlackBerry Device Service like this and it is working just fine. The BES in the LAN and the Router in the DMZ with the port 3101.

 

I would like to know what ports are needed to open for the Universal Device Service. As far as i know i need to install a Communication Module in the DMZ.

 

Many thanks,
Marc

Super Contributor
Posts: 475
Registered: ‎11-19-2013
My Device: BB Z10

Re: Needed Ports for Communication Module in DMZ

Hi..

In the above article see the section "Common IP Addresses to all regions" there it is mentioned the ports that are to be opened for UDS module...the BES 10 server should be able to reach the mentioned public IPs through the router.

As per my knowledge there should be nothing installed like communication module as you said..

Thanks
Please update the result after applied..

Thanks
Contributor
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎09-17-2013
My Device: Curve 9300
My Carrier: Swisscom

Re: Needed Ports for Communication Module in DMZ

Hi Sameer

 

thank you for your answer. So you meen that the UDS can also use the router to get to the internet? I read something that the communication module needs to reach the internet especially the apple servers with some other ports than 443, 80 or 3101. Are you sure about this?

 

Many thanks,

Marc

Highlighted
Super Contributor
Posts: 475
Registered: ‎11-19-2013
My Device: BB Z10

Re: Needed Ports for Communication Module in DMZ

hi. . 

 

please refer to the below forum .. this might help you..

 

http://supportforums.blackberry.com/t5/BlackBerry-Enterprise-Service-10/Confused-on-BES10-UDS-infras...

 

Thanks

Please update the result after applied..

Thanks