Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Enterprise Service 10

New Contributor
My Device: 8520
My Carrier: Vodafone
Accepted Solution

Test software before updating for all

Hello,

I have successfully deployed a 3rd party appliction from my BES.

The vendors will send regular updates for this application. Each time this happens I would like to deploy the update to one device as a test before updating all the 100's of devices we have.

This is my first time deploying anything from a BES and it looks to me like I am unable to update the application without it filtering through immediately via the software configuration to the end user.

If I try to add the same software as a separate application it detects information for an existing application and does not install.

Does anyone have or know of a procedure that will allow me to run a test and live versions of an application side-by-side?

Thanks.

New Developer
My Device: Torch 9860
My Carrier: ATT

Re: Test software before updating for all

Yes you can deploy a newer version of an app to a single BB before rolling out to your user base.  Remember that you do not assign an Application to a device but a Software Configuration to the device**,  and these configurations contain one or more applications.

** Software Configurations are not assigned to the device, but to the BES user, or BES group.

Here is a procedure that you can use to test out a new version of Google Maps.

Assumptions:  User base has Google Maps 4.5.2 installed, where GM4.5.2 is part of a Software Configuration that we will call "MyCompany Standard Apps".  You want to deploy Google Maps 4.5.3 after testing it on a single device.

1.   Add the 4.5.3 version of Google Maps via "Add or update applications" and provide the .zip file containing the components for the app.