Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones


Thank you for visiting the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

BlackBerry will be closing the BlackBerry Support Community Forums Device Forums on April 1st (Developers, see below)

BlackBerry remains committed to providing excellent customer support to our customers. We are delighted to direct you to the CrackBerry Forums, a well-established and thorough support channel, for continued BlackBerry support. Please visit http://forums.crackberry.com or http://crackberry.com/ask. You can also continue to visit BlackBerry Support or the BlackBerry Knowledge Base for official support options available for your BlackBerry Smartphone.

"When we launched CrackBerry.com 10 years ago, we set out to make it a fun and useful destination where BlackBerry Smartphone owners could share their excitement and learn to unleash the full potential of their BlackBerry. A decade later, the CrackBerry community is as active and passionate as ever and I know our knowledgeable members and volunteers will be excited to welcome and assist more BlackBerry owners with their questions."

- Kevin Michaluk, Founder, CrackBerry.com

Developers, for more information about the BlackBerry Developer Community please review Join the Conversation on the BlackBerry Developer Community Forums found on Inside BlackBerry.


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎07-17-2012
My Device: Blackberry 7130v
My Carrier: Comviq

7130v update.

Hello,

i just bought a old 7130v with software v4.1.0.317 and after several tries i have not been able to install a media device

or any kind of software on this phone and i wonder if anyone now how to do any upgrade or program for this ?

Guru II
Posts: 22,045
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: BlackBerry PRIV; BlackBerry Z30, Z10 and Q10 w/OS 10.3.2.2639; PlayBook w/OS 2.1.0.1917
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: 7130v update.

The 7130 is very limited in its functions compared to the devices of today. The only way to get pictures to the device is to download them from the Internet or email them to yourself. As far as upgrading I think OS 4.2 is the best it can get.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1. Please thank those who help you by clicking the "Like" button at the bottom of the post that helped you.
2. If your issue has been solved, please resolve it by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
New Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎07-17-2012
My Device: Blackberry 7130v
My Carrier: Comviq

Re: 7130v update.

Thanx for your answer in this matter and i have tried many times with no positive response and all i get is that i need

a another application upload ??

Well ! it's a very old model and i bought it just as a backup phone so maybe i stay with that as it is..

Guru II
Posts: 22,045
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: BlackBerry PRIV; BlackBerry Z30, Z10 and Q10 w/OS 10.3.2.2639; PlayBook w/OS 2.1.0.1917
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: 7130v update.

To be honest, that's what I'd do. About all that device will do is phone, sms, email, bbm, and browsing. Updating its software won't give you much of anything beyond that.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1. Please thank those who help you by clicking the "Like" button at the bottom of the post that helped you.
2. If your issue has been solved, please resolve it by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
New Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎07-17-2012
My Device: Blackberry 7130v
My Carrier: Comviq

Re: 7130v update.

Well the only thing i really wanted to do with'it was to get some other ringtones for'it

Guru II
Posts: 22,045
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: BlackBerry PRIV; BlackBerry Z30, Z10 and Q10 w/OS 10.3.2.2639; PlayBook w/OS 2.1.0.1917
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: 7130v update.

That was always one of the hardest things to do with those devices. You have to email them to yourself or use the browser to download some.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1. Please thank those who help you by clicking the "Like" button at the bottom of the post that helped you.
2. If your issue has been solved, please resolve it by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
New Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎07-17-2012
My Device: Blackberry 7130v
My Carrier: Comviq

Re: 7130v update.

In that case i'm screwed couse i only got a cash card or pre paid sim card and with my carrier i dont have any access

to internet or e-mail  .

Well ! it was worth a try anyway...

Thanks for your time.

Guru II
Posts: 22,045
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: BlackBerry PRIV; BlackBerry Z30, Z10 and Q10 w/OS 10.3.2.2639; PlayBook w/OS 2.1.0.1917
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: 7130v update.

You could try connecting it to the Desktop Software. It's been years since I connected one of these but it might be possible to transfer some media files using that method. You have to have the files on your computer though.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1. Please thank those who help you by clicking the "Like" button at the bottom of the post that helped you.
2. If your issue has been solved, please resolve it by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
New Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎07-17-2012
My Device: Blackberry 7130v
My Carrier: Comviq

Re: 7130v update.

Tried that too and the response from device manager is that all media device is not available and not applicable for

my model.

Highlighted
Guru II
Posts: 22,045
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: BlackBerry PRIV; BlackBerry Z30, Z10 and Q10 w/OS 10.3.2.2639; PlayBook w/OS 2.1.0.1917
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: 7130v update.

Yeah, that's what I figured but it was worth a try.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1. Please thank those who help you by clicking the "Like" button at the bottom of the post that helped you.
2. If your issue has been solved, please resolve it by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!