Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-14-2008
My Device: Not Specified

8800 change SIM card

Is there a way I can determine if my BB 8800 is LOCKED or UNLOCKED for purposes of using another network provider's SIM card when out of country?
Forums Advisor I
Posts: 661
Registered: ‎04-02-2008
My Device: Curve 8900

Re: 8800 change SIM card

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-28-2008
My Device: 8300

Re: 8800 change SIM card

You can determine if your Blackberry - ANY MODEL!! - LOCK STATUS

 

Simply, go to advanced options, SIM CARD - type mepd (meppd on pearl) then a hidden menu will open - it will list 5 locks - DISABLED -- Unlocked!

 

 

 

this message courtesy of http://horizonwirelessonline.com

 

The source for Blackberry Remote MEP Codes
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-18-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: 8800 change SIM card

OK,

What if the status is as follows:

 

SIM = Disabled

Network = Active

Network Subset = Disabled

Service Provider = Disabled

Corporate = Disabled

 

Does it mean it is unlocked?  If no, how can I unlock?

 

Thanks.

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-28-2008
My Device: 8300

Re: 8800 change SIM card

Hi, the answer is:

 

If NETWORK shows ACTIVE - device is locked to carrier

if NETWORK shows INAVTIVE - device is SIM Unlocked for any sim card

 

 

 

thanks,

hope this clearedthings up

J

http://horizonwirelessonline.com

The source for Blackberry Remote MEP Codes
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-18-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: 8800 change SIM card

But, when I inserted a third-party SIM card, it is able read the SIM # and displays it (under Advanced Options --> SIM card).

 

Additionally, I looked at one of my friend's Sprint BB 8830 World Edition (which is advertised as comes SIM-unlocked).

It showed Network = Active

 

Thanks for your response.

Forums Advisor II
Posts: 974
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: T-Mobile 8100

Re: 8800 change SIM card

The SIM card have nothing to do with the device being unlocked or not. It will still be able to read a SIM card if its locked. Just not able to connect to their network for anything other than emergency phone calls.
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-18-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: 8800 change SIM card

OK, guys...  Thanks for all the help.

 

I took my BB 8830 World Edition to India.  It does work with local SIM card with the above status... therefore, it is unlocked.

 

Additionally, Alltel did send me an email saying that their BB are shipped SIM-unlocked.