Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

New Contributor
My Device: 8830 World Edition
My Carrier: Vodafone India (Vendor: 269 Tata Indicom)
Accepted Solution

8830 World Edition GSM Unlock and Vendor Id

Hi,

I am a tech unsavvy guy and have a 8830 World Edition phone. Bought this from Tata Indicom (Vendor ID: 269), a CDMA operator who also provided a GSM SIM for international roaming only. Last month, Mobile Number Portability came into India, and I switched to a GSM Provider, Vodafone India. Post number porting, simply Inserted the new Vodafone SIM, and the phone and the Blackberry services are working fine with the new operator. Couple of questions:

1. From Options -> Advanced Options -> SIM Card, after typing MEPD, I see:

ID:                            a big number

Personalization:

SIM                                    Disabled

Network                                Active

Network Subset              Disabled

Service Provider              Disabled

Corporate                         Disabled

Does this mean my Blackberry is locked? If yes, is it locked by Vodafone? Since I did switch the service provider from Tata to Vodafone and carry the same number on the same phone, Tata does not seem to have locked the phone.

2. Typing Alt EACE, I still see the Vendor ID 269 (Tata). Also see the Tata logo at start up. Is there any way I can change the Vendor ID or at least stop getting the old Vendor's splash screen? Does this Vendo ID has anything to do with the Lock mentioned above?

Would really appreciate if some kind soul enlightens.

Thanks,

Sabyasachi

India

Highlighted
Hall of Famer III
My Device: DTEK50 (AAH108), PRIV (AAH995), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1917)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: 8830 World Edition GSM Unlock and Vendor Id

Hi and Welcome to the Forums!