Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

New Contributor
My Device: Not Specified

8900 and IMAP Setup

Hello,

BB newbie here.  I am migrating from an iPhone.  I am having two issues I cannot get around. I have an IMAP email account that I use on my iPhone and computer.  I set this email account up on my Curve 8900.  I can receive the email on my 8900, but if I delete the email on the 8900, it does not remove it from the server.  Also, if I delete it on the server, it stays on my 8900.

The second is When I click on the Message folder, I get everything.  Sent and received email.

Is this normal for BB?

Thanks in advance! 

Elite II
My Device: Torch 9800
My Carrier: grameenphone

Re: 8900 and IMAP Setup

Hi Oriontool, 

Welcome to BlackBerry Support Community Forum.

For delete item synchronization go to Message -> Options -> Email Reconciliations -> Delete On: Mailbox & Handheld.

By default all the sent and received emails will be shown in the same folder. However, if you don't want see the sent items then go to  Message -> Options -> General Options -> Hide Sent Messages: Yes

tanzim                                                                                  
If your query is resolved then please click on Accept as Solution

Click on the LIKE on the bottom right if the post deserves credit

New Contributor

Hi tanzim,

Thank you!  That worked.  So I understand, I am used to seeing folders (sent, inbox, etc..). I take it that is not the way a BlackBerry works? 

Thanks again!

Oriontool 

Hall of Famer III
My Device: DTEK50 (AAH108), PRIV (AAH995), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1917)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Folders are available as part of the BES enterprise integration. BIS email delivery is not designed to handle folders.