Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones


Thank you for visiting the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

BlackBerry will be closing the BlackBerry Support Community Forums Device Forums on April 1st (Developers, see below)

BlackBerry remains committed to providing excellent customer support to our customers. We are delighted to direct you to the CrackBerry Forums, a well-established and thorough support channel, for continued BlackBerry support. Please visit http://forums.crackberry.com or http://crackberry.com/ask. You can also continue to visit BlackBerry Support or the BlackBerry Knowledge Base for official support options available for your BlackBerry Smartphone.

"When we launched CrackBerry.com 10 years ago, we set out to make it a fun and useful destination where BlackBerry Smartphone owners could share their excitement and learn to unleash the full potential of their BlackBerry. A decade later, the CrackBerry community is as active and passionate as ever and I know our knowledgeable members and volunteers will be excited to welcome and assist more BlackBerry owners with their questions."

- Kevin Michaluk, Founder, CrackBerry.com

Developers, for more information about the BlackBerry Developer Community please review Join the Conversation on the BlackBerry Developer Community Forums found on Inside BlackBerry.


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎02-16-2013
My Device: curve 9380
My Carrier: marketing

Re: 9310 Can't play youtube videos using blackberry browser

This support center ,place of short out the youtube problem and directly insist to solve the problem with RIM , provideing a rank ,its not good ... Support center means there we put our thought and request ,suggestion etc. For any issues because we unable to contact directly to RIM
New Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎02-16-2013
My Device: curve 9380
My Carrier: marketing

Re: 9310 Can't play youtube videos using blackberry browser

RIM should brodcost the mail DEAR RIM USER WE UNABLE TO PROVIDE YOUTUBE SERVICES FOR NEXT WEEK FOR SOME TECHNICAL ISSUES KINDLY COOPRATE WITH US that effect is too better compair to present posting ...
New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-17-2013
My Device: Curve 9360
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: 9310 Can't play youtube videos using blackberry browser

[ Edited ]

Own a Curve 9360,noticed for the past two days or so I have not been able to access Youtube video's on my phone.Took my phone to my service provider...couldn't get problem fixed.Has anyone heard anything from RIM re: this problem and how long the problem is going to exist.?

New Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎02-16-2013
My Device: curve 9320
My Carrier: rim

Re: 9310 Can't play youtube videos using blackberry browser

We're all in the same boat ronhac. No idea how long its gonna take. But hope its gonna be soon.
New Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎02-16-2013
My Device: curve 9380
My Carrier: marketing

Re: 9310 Can't play youtube videos using blackberry browser

Dear all member of support teme thank so much to resolved the youtube problem , we are really appriciate with you valuable feedback and priority of customer issues .

Thank you so much
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎02-16-2013
My Device: curve 9320
My Carrier: rim

Re: 9310 Can't play youtube videos using blackberry browser

Whoop!! Youtube is bk. Thx for the feedback & help!. Smiley Very Happy
New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-18-2013
My Device: blackberry 9900
My Carrier: Wind

Re: 9310 Can't play youtube videos using blackberry browser

Go to options of ur broswer and check mark "switch to carrier network for video streaming" and u should be able to play videos in no time Smiley Happy
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-14-2013
My Device: Blackberry 9310
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: 9310 Can't play youtube videos using blackberry browser

Seems to be working now!!!!  Thanks to RIM or Google or whomever fixed it.  Browser settings didn't change anything.  It just started working like magic.