Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-24-2011
My Device: bb playbook and bb torch 9810
My Carrier: att

9810 torch the screen constantly freezes or has the little black square with the dial going around like its updating

Please tell me how to fix this. 9810 torch the screen constantly freezes or has the little black square with the dial going around like its updating. It s very frustrating that everytime I go to do anything on my phone either the screen is frozen or its updating . It wont even let me turn the screen on unless i open the keypad - freezes and updates when trying to hang up a call- takes two minutes to prep phone for every use

Guru I
Posts: 19,020
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Passport, Playbook, 9320BES
My Carrier: Bouygues _ SFR

Re: 9810 torch the screen constantly freezes or has the little black square with the dial going around like its updating

Hello,

I think you can try two things : the soft reboot, and if it does not work, the hard reboot. Don't worry, you can't lose data with these two reboots.

Soft reboot :
1) Hit the three following keys at the same time :
- Alt
- Right Shift
- Delete
2) wait 2 minutes for the Blackberry to wake up.


Hard reboot :
1) your Blackberry device is on
2) remove the battery and wait for a minute
3) Put the battery back
4) wait 5 minutes for the device to wake up.


Please tell us if it works for you.




The search box on top-right of this page is your true friend, and the public Knowledge Base too:
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-04-2011
My Device: Torch 9810
My Carrier: ATT

Re: 9810 torch the screen constantly freezes or has the little black square with the dial going around like its updating

The same thing is happening with my Torch.  I've already hard booted it 3 times today.  Is this a common Torch problem?

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-06-2010
My Device: 9860
My Carrier: Telus

Re: 9810 torch the screen constantly freezes or has the little black square with the dial going around like its updating

Exact samre issue with my 9860...did all the obvious coomon things such as  batt pulls..check apps...shut off compression..disable auto clean.

 

Nothing seems to work and its noticeably getting worse.

 

Phone has went from pretty dang good to almost as bad as my Storm2.

 

PLS....any advise?

Guru III
Posts: 32,116
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry PRIV, Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook,BT Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: 9810 torch the screen constantly freezes or has the little black square with the dial going around like its updating

On device go to Options, Device, Application Management is a great way to see what your apps are doing with your CPU usage on #Torch. Just slide top bar to CPU and see what is going on. Also touch the CPU menu to see other time variables. I found out that an app was eating away CPU cycles on mine

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 12 and BES 5.0.4 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2012 Hyper V


New Developer
Posts: 64
Registered: ‎01-14-2011
My Device: Priv, 9810, PlayBook, 9000, 8820
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: 9810 torch the screen constantly freezes or has the little black square with the dial going around like its updating

[ Edited ]

I just started having this same problem with my 9810 about three days ago.  Extremely frustrating.  Randomly, and as often as every few minutes when I'm trying to use it, I'll get the "wait" icon and a frozen phone for anywhere from a few seconds to a minute or so.  Makes the device extremely difficult to use for much of anything, and seems to be contributing to running the battery down unnecessarily quickly.

 

And no, rebooting (soft or hard) doesn't seem to have any effect on this behavior.

 

While looking at Options>Device>ApplicationManagement>CPU, I've caught this freeze happening a few times, and each time, it's "System" spiking the CPU to 100%, not any of the listed applications.  I don't know or appear to have any visibility into what aspect of "System" might be chomping on my 9810's CPU, but that's all I got so far...

Guru I
Posts: 19,020
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Passport, Playbook, 9320BES
My Carrier: Bouygues _ SFR

Re: 9810 torch the screen constantly freezes or has the little black square with the dial going around like its updating

how much "file free" do you have on your device?



The search box on top-right of this page is your true friend, and the public Knowledge Base too:
New Developer
Posts: 64
Registered: ‎01-14-2011
My Device: Priv, 9810, PlayBook, 9000, 8820
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: 9810 torch the screen constantly freezes or has the little black square with the dial going around like its updating

Interestingly, I've since deleted from my phone three large communications app that I never use (Google Talk, Windows Live Messenger, Yahoo Messenger), and I don't seem to be having this trouble any more.

 

Could this, at least in some cases, be an issue that occurs when the phone's available application memory gets too low, perhaps?

Guru III
Posts: 32,116
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry PRIV, Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook,BT Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: 9810 torch the screen constantly freezes or has the little black square with the dial going around like its updating


Thogek wrote:

Interestingly, I've since deleted from my phone three large communications app that I never use (Google Talk, Windows Live Messenger, Yahoo Messenger), and I don't seem to be having this trouble any more.

 

Could this, at least in some cases, be an issue that occurs when the phone's available application memory gets too low, perhaps?



it is possible, but I have not pruned my apps yet. maybe you activated one and it was stuck trying to get data with multi retires

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 12 and BES 5.0.4 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2012 Hyper V


New Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎01-12-2012
My Device: curve 9300
My Carrier: vodacom

Re: 9810 torch the screen constantly freezes or has the little black square with the dial going around like its updating

this is an easy fix just go to home screen and hold alt then press lglg it will take u to a screen with a list from there press blackberry button when the menu comes up just say clear then u done