Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎02-22-2012
My Device: bold 9900
My Carrier: vodafone

9900 software upgrae problem

can anyone help me, an icon appeared on my screen to upgrade my phone which ive done once before.

 

it started to back up my data but has froze on 7% since 10am yesterday, does anyone know whats happened?

 

all its says on my screen is 'backing up your data' then 2 bars

 

one saying social feeds and below overall back up progress which is stuck on 7%

 

any help will be appreciated

Guru II
Posts: 21,707
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: BlackBerry PRIV; BlackBerry Z30, Z10 and Q10 w/OS 10.3.2.2639; PlayBook w/OS 2.1.0.1917
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: 9900 software upgrae problem

Oh boy. If it's been that long it likely may not finish. This has been an ongoing problem with OTA upgrades. If it doesn't finish you'll need to reload the OS to your device manually. If you don't have a recent backup made with BlackBerry Desktop Software, BBProtect, or if you're not on a BES, you will lose all your data.


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1. Please thank those who help you by clicking the "Like" button at the bottom of the post that helped you.
2. If your issue has been solved, please resolve it by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
New Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎02-22-2012
My Device: bold 9900
My Carrier: vodafone

Re: 9900 software upgrae problem

what do i do now as i cant even do anything?  if i take my battery and sim out and put them back in it just goes back to the same screen

Guru II
Posts: 21,707
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: BlackBerry PRIV; BlackBerry Z30, Z10 and Q10 w/OS 10.3.2.2639; PlayBook w/OS 2.1.0.1917
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: 9900 software upgrae problem

It wouldn't hurt to give your carrier a call and see what they can do for you.  At the very least it will log the issue and the more often they see it happen the sooner a fix will be implemented.   Regardless, here is how to wipe the device and reload the OS from scratch.  Again, your data will be lost if you don't already have a backup.

 

1. First locate your carrier and the OS file you wish to use (usually the newest version is best.)

http://na.blackberry.com/eng/support/downloads/download_sites.jsp

2. Download the OS file from step 1 to the PC then install it to the PC by running (double clicking) the file you downloaded.

3. Go to c:\program files\common files\research in motion\apploader and delete the file named "vendor.xml." Also check the following locations for vendor.xml files and delete any instances of the file:

On Windows Vista/7 navigate to C:\Users\YOUR_USER\AppData\Roaming\Research In Motion\BlackBerry\Loader XML (Where "YOUR_USER" is your username)

On Windows XP navigate to C:\Documents and Settings\YOUR_USER\Application Data\Research In Motion\BlackBerry\Loader XML (Where "YOUR_USER" is your username)

4. Use BBSAK from BBSAK.org and wipe the device (your data will be lost during this step) then after you get the error 507 (no OS installed) proceed to next step.

5. Plug in BlackBerry and double click on "Loader.exe." It's located in c:\program files\common files\research in motion\apploader


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1. Please thank those who help you by clicking the "Like" button at the bottom of the post that helped you.
2. If your issue has been solved, please resolve it by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎02-22-2012
My Device: bold 9900
My Carrier: vodafone

Re: 9900 software upgrae problem

thanks for youre help, really has helped me.. cheers