Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎10-30-2009
My Device: Not Specified

AT&T Torch 9810 pauses or hangs

I have a Torch 9810 with OS 7.1.0.694.  I have recently developed an issue where it tends to freeze or pause randomly.  Sometimes the watch is displayed, but not always.  There is wireless or cellular activity, but I can't tell what is running.  I have removed all the apps and then started putting them back on one at a time to see which one started causing the problem again, but I need the phone and have not been able to keep apps off of it long enough for a full test.

 

I think I narrowed it down to having something to do with the Twitter for Blackberry, but can't be sure, because even when I remove it, the problem still seems to happen, but not as badly.

 

Short of wiping the device and starting from scratch one app at a time, does anyone have any suggestions?  The only apps I have running in the background are VQ Mileage Tracker Pro, DriveSafe.ly Pro, and Slide2Open Pro.

Hall of Famer III
Posts: 57,527
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: PRIV (6.0.1/AAG111), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: AT&T Torch 9810 pauses or hangs

Hello,

Actually, I think the path you are already on is the right one. Cleanly conducting full tests is the only way to truly root out a core cause of such issues.

If you find that you can indeed conduct a full test again, then I'd actually recommend a different path...reload your OS clean and as "bare bones" as possible, and update to the latest version (which may or may not be the OS you have listed). Then, you can slowly start adding things to figure out what the true root cause is. Sometimes, going the reverse direction (removing things) does not truly reveal the root cause...if an app caused OS-level corruption (for example), then removing the app would not cure the corruption.

Good luck!


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................
Contributor
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎10-30-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: AT&T Torch 9810 pauses or hangs

The problem is finding the time needed to go through all that.  I have started several times, but then realize that I need an app so I reinstall that before I got to really test the prior one.  I will have to see what I can do.  The other problem is when I do a reset, I will lose all my email from more than 5 days ago when I reactivate with BBCS.

 

Thanks though.

 

Barry

Guru III
Posts: 32,116
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry PRIV, Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook,BT Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: AT&T Torch 9810 pauses or hangs

VQ Mileage Tracker Pro might be keeping GPS running and using data

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 12 and BES 5.0.4 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2012 Hyper V


Highlighted
Contributor
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎10-30-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: AT&T Torch 9810 pauses or hangs

VQ is set to only go live when my Bluetooth headset is on, so I don't think that is it, but that has been the first app I have reinstalled and thw problem hasn't occurred with just that installed.