Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Reply
Hall of Famer III
Posts: 58,369
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: DTEK50 (AAI82), PRIV (AAI459), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1917)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: Auto shut down a night

I find that nothing is obvious, most especially the technical ability of any individual via this channel of support.

You can do whatever you choose to do...you (not I) are in control. All I can do is advise. In general, running for long periods in Safe Mode is not recommended, but I cannot think of what it will hurt. Then again, if you are running things on your BB that are configured to automatically update things between your device and some server somewhere, that automatic process may well not function while in Safe Mode...so if you depend on that, then it will not be working.

Since I can't see your device nor what it's running, I can only guess. If you believe you have a serious problem and do not feel competent to deal with it based on the guidance provided, then you would instead seek out fee-based support from some local (to you) shop or expert.

Good luck!

Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................
Contributor
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎04-05-2013
My Device: Curve 9360
My Carrier: AT & T

Re: Auto shut down a night

Restored her while in safe mode. Pulled and reinserted battery.  Only tonght will tell the tale!  Thank you, Mike

Hall of Famer III
Posts: 58,369
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: DTEK50 (AAI82), PRIV (AAI459), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1917)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: Auto shut down a night

If the problem was with data, then restoring as you say may help. If the problem is an app or the core OS, then restoring as you say will likely be of no use.

Good luck!

Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................
Contributor
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎04-05-2013
My Device: Curve 9360
My Carrier: AT & T

Re: Auto shut down a night

Let's us assume the worst and she locks up tonight! Do I simply start deleting apps one at a time until the problem goes away? And if I get down to the BB APPs and nothing good happens how do I reinstall the operating system? Mike
Hall of Famer III
Posts: 58,369
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: DTEK50 (AAI82), PRIV (AAI459), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1917)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: Auto shut down a night

[ Edited ]

That is certainly a valid approach; removing apps one at a time is on the assumption that it's an app that is the cause, and the OS itself is not corrupt. The opposite method would be to do a clean OS install, and then add things one at a time. Different methods, similar results. The choice is yours.

(PS -- if it were me, I'd do the clean OS Reload and reload all of my apps, then see what happens. If the problem continues, then I'd go to the Bare Bones process. I can give you detailed instructions if you would like.)


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................
Contributor
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎04-05-2013
My Device: Curve 9360
My Carrier: AT & T

Re: Auto shut down a night

Sir, I vote for your suggestion. If you would be so kind as to advise me how!
Contributor
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎04-05-2013
My Device: Curve 9360
My Carrier: AT & T

Re: Auto shut down a night

 
Hall of Famer III
Posts: 58,369
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: DTEK50 (AAI82), PRIV (AAI459), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1917)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: Auto shut down a night

The simplest way is to, on a PC (you cannot do this on MAC):

1) Make sure you have a current and complete backup of your BB...you can find complete instructions via the link in my auto-sig below.

2) Uninstall, from your PC, any BB OS packages

3) Make sure you have the BB Desktop Software already installed

4) Download and install, to your PC, the BB OS package you desire:

  • http://us.blackberry.com/support/downloads/download_sites.jsp
  • It is sorted first by carrier -- so if all you want are the OS levels your carrier supports, your search will be quick. However, some carriers are much slower than others to release updates. To truly seek out the most up-to-date OS package for your BB, you must dig through and find all carriers that support your specific model BB, and then compare the OS levels that they support.

5) Delete, on your PC, all copies of VENDOR.XML...there will be at least one, and perhaps 2, and they will be located in or similarly to (it changes based on your Windows version) these folders:

  • C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Research In Motion\AppLoader
  • C:\Users\(your Windows UserName)\AppData\Roaming\Research In Motion\BlackBerry\Loader XML

6a) For changing your installed BB OS level (upgrade or downgrade), you can launch the Desktop Software and connect your BB...the software should offer you the OS package you installed to your PC.

6b) Or, for reloading your currently installed BB OS level as well as for changing it, bypass the Desktop Software and use LOADER.EXE directly, by proceeding to step 2 in this process:

If, during the processes of 6a or 6b, your BB presents a "507" error, simply unplug the USB cord from the BB and re-insert it...don't do anything else...this should allow the install to continue.

After, you can proceed with restoration of your data, re-installation of all of your apps, etc.

 



You may also want to investigate the use of BBSAK (bbsak.org) to perform the wipe it is capable of.



You may also want to try the "Bare Bones OS Reload Procedure" to attempt to narrow down the precise causal item:

  1. Load your OS "bare bones"...if anything is optional, do not install it.
  2. If the behavior presents immediately, then try a different OS with step 1
  3. If the behavior does not immediately present, then run for as long as it takes for you to be sure that the behavior will not present.
  4. Add one thing -- no matter how tempting, just one.
  5. If the behavior does not present immediately, then again run for long enough to be sure it will not have the same problem
  6. Repeat steps 4 and 5 until all things are loaded or the behavior presents

When the behavior presents, you know the culprit...the last thing you loaded.

If the behavior does not re-present, then you know that either step 1 or 2 cured it.

If the behavior presents no matter what, then you likely have a hardware level issue for which no amount of OS or software can cure.



You may also need the use of these tricks:


 

Good luck and let us know!


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................
Contributor
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎04-05-2013
My Device: Curve 9360
My Carrier: AT & T

Re: Auto shut down a night

Wow, maybe tomorrow when not so tired from a day in the fields. Mike
Contributor
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎04-05-2013
My Device: Curve 9360
My Carrier: AT & T

Re: Auto shut down a night

Sir,  I restored her in safe mode last night and this morning alls well!  The time slipped from Central to Eastern again, in spite of being saved, but all the serious problems seem to have gone bye bye.  Thank you again and again.  Mike