Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎07-27-2013
My Device: Z-10, STL100-2
My Carrier: ORANGE

BB Bold 9000

Hello,

 

About 6 months ago I purchased a Z-10 and have been struggling ever since with the transfer of contacts from my BB Bold 9000. The latter has a OS 4.6, which doesn't facilitate the transfer either to the SIM or to a media memory. Can I update the OS in my Bold 9000 with a version 6 or 7?

All this would be unnecessary if BlackBerry had built means for transfer of contacts and calendar data from MS Outlook into its Link. 

 

Many thanks,

Gus2013

Hall of Famer III
Posts: 58,413
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: DTEK50 (AAI82), PRIV (AAI795), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1917)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: BB Bold 9000

Hi and Welcome to the Community!

 


Gus2013 wrote:

All this would be unnecessary if BlackBerry had built means for transfer of contacts and calendar data from MS Outlook into its Link.


Ummm...actually, in the most recent Link versions, this indeed exists:

Good luck!


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................
Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎07-27-2013
My Device: Z-10, STL100-2
My Carrier: ORANGE

Re: BB Bold 9000

Hmmm..thanks for your advice; I have version 1.1.1.32  BB Link in my computer, which I thought was the latest. I have version 10.1.0.2312 BB softwear in my Z10, which I installed last week. My version of BB Link says that my device softwear does not permit the synchronization of contacts and calendars with Outlook. There is no option of importing from Outlook of these files.

I have tried to find the BB Link version 1.0.1 but have been presented only with 1.1.1.32. However, if Link says my device softwear can't do it, and it was the latest version available, what next?

Hall of Famer III
Posts: 58,413
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: DTEK50 (AAI82), PRIV (AAI795), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1917)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: BB Bold 9000

If you want to continue discussing the BB10-level issues, you should ask over in the BB10-specific boards...this section is for legacy/Bold. I'd suggest you post in the thread I linked to...the OP of that thread knows much more about sync via LINK than I do (my specialty is OTA sync, I don't use LINK for any sync).

Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................
Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎07-27-2013
My Device: Z-10, STL100-2
My Carrier: ORANGE

Re: BB Bold 9000

 

Thanks, I will do that. My original question, can I upgrade the OS of my Bold 9000 to version 7, remains. Can somebody help with that?

 

Hall of Famer III
Posts: 58,413
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: DTEK50 (AAI82), PRIV (AAI795), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1917)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: BB Bold 9000

You can upgrade to any OS level that is supported by any carrier, and you can research what the available levels are here:


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................
Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎07-27-2013
My Device: Z-10, STL100-2
My Carrier: ORANGE

Re: BB Bold 9000

Thanks again; unfortunately my provider, Orange, doesn't have Bold on its list. I shall have to take a trip to Paris to sort it out. Appriciate your efforts, however! I hope somebody on the Z10 thread can help me use Link correctly.

 

Gus2013

Smiley Sad

Hall of Famer III
Posts: 58,413
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: DTEK50 (AAI82), PRIV (AAI795), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1917)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: BB Bold 9000

[ Edited ]

Please re-read what I said above "You can upgrade to any OS level that is supported by any carrier". I do not understand why a trip to Paris is required to research the download portal for other carriers support of your BB model number.

 

Perhaps it is the process you do not understand...the simplest way is to, on a PC (you cannot do this on MAC):

1) Uninstall, from your PC, any BB OS packages

2) Make sure you have the BB Desktop Software already installed

3) Download and install, to your PC, the BB OS package you desire:

4) Delete, on your PC, all copies of VENDOR.XML...there will be at least one, and perhaps 2, and they will be located in or similarly to (it changes based on your Windows version) these folders:

  • C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Research In Motion\AppLoader
  • C:\Users\(your Windows UserName)\AppData\Roaming\Research In Motion\BlackBerry\Loader XML

5) Launch the Desktop Software and connect your BB...the software should offer you the OS package you installed to your PC. If, during the process, your BB presents a "507" error, simply unplug the USB cord from the BB and re-insert it...don't do anything else...this should allow the install to continue.

Don't forget to backup.


 


If you are on MAC, you are limited to only your carriers sanctioned OS packages...but can still use any levels that they currently sanction. See this procedure:

  • KB19915How to perform a clean reload of BlackBerry smartphone application software using BlackBerry Desktop Software

Good luck and let us know!


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................
Highlighted
Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎07-27-2013
My Device: Z-10, STL100-2
My Carrier: ORANGE

Re: BB Bold 9000

Hello sdgardne,

 

After much reflection, and after a bad experience with loss of data after downloading a new version of the BB Z10 OS on my new terminal, and thinking that I may have to go back to my old Bold 9000, I decided not to proceed with the change in OS on the Bold until I had exhausted all options on trying to make the Z10 function properly. I'm still working on that with your colleagues in that Thread, so I may well be back to you.

 

For the moment, bye-bye.

Gus2013