Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones


Thank you for visiting the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

BlackBerry will be closing the BlackBerry Support Community Forums Device Forums on April 1st (Developers, see below)

BlackBerry remains committed to providing excellent customer support to our customers. We are delighted to direct you to the CrackBerry Forums, a well-established and thorough support channel, for continued BlackBerry support. Please visit http://forums.crackberry.com or http://crackberry.com/ask. You can also continue to visit BlackBerry Support or the BlackBerry Knowledge Base for official support options available for your BlackBerry Smartphone.

"When we launched CrackBerry.com 10 years ago, we set out to make it a fun and useful destination where BlackBerry Smartphone owners could share their excitement and learn to unleash the full potential of their BlackBerry. A decade later, the CrackBerry community is as active and passionate as ever and I know our knowledgeable members and volunteers will be excited to welcome and assist more BlackBerry owners with their questions."

- Kevin Michaluk, Founder, CrackBerry.com

Developers, for more information about the BlackBerry Developer Community please review Join the Conversation on the BlackBerry Developer Community Forums found on Inside BlackBerry.


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-16-2012
My Device: Bold 9000
My Carrier: Turk Telecom
Accepted Solution

BB Bold connecting problems

BB Bold 9000, BDM version 7.1.0.32, Windows 7 64 bit Professional, antivirus (DrWeb) and firewall (Agnitum Outpost).

 

When logging in as an Administrator, synchromization works, BB connecting to PC instantly, so the cable, firewall and antivirus are not causing any troubles. No problems.

 

When logging in as a User, BDM displays "Connecting" with green ring turning. Waiting for 20 minutes - nothing happens at all, no connect (sign "Connecting" is still there). The problem came out recently - about a month or so ago. No sofware installation, save some ugrade of exisiting software.

 

What could be the reason of such behavior of BDM / PC?

Hall of Famer III
Posts: 59,104
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: DTEK50 (AAI82), PRIV (AAI795), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1917)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: BB Bold connecting problems

Hi and Welcome to the Community!

 

If the software was installed by Admin, but not properly shared to all users, and then if the update was done in a different manner, that could have confused the rights within Windows, causing this odd behavior.


I suggest this thread:

It starts with a process for cleanly starting over, and there is some discussion, and there is also a post (15) with links to older Desktop Software versions, if those are needed. Note that this is not, by any means, guaranteed to work...but it has worked for many to resolve issues they are having. You may want to do everything while logged in as Admin, as well as use "Run As Admin" for all that you can. You may also consider installing it while logged in as the user, if it's only that user who will be using it.

Good luck!


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-16-2012
My Device: Bold 9000
My Carrier: Turk Telecom

Re: BB Bold connecting problems

Hi sdgardne!

 

Thanks for your post. I am going to implement your advise early next week. Will post the results. Have a nice weekend!

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-16-2012
My Device: Bold 9000
My Carrier: Turk Telecom

Re: BB Bold connecting problems

Hi sdgardne!

 

Made 3 complete unistalls and re-installs of BDM, cleaned up the registry with CCleaner. The problems wasn't solved. Running BDM under Administrator  didn't help either.

 

Then I removed BDM 7.1 and installed older version - 6.1.0.35. Everything works now!

 

So, the problem was with BDM 7.1 version. 

Hall of Famer III
Posts: 59,104
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: DTEK50 (AAI82), PRIV (AAI795), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1917)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: BB Bold connecting problems

Excellent...I'm glad that provided you with a path to get going again.

Good luck!

Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................