Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Reply
Highlighted
Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-05-2011
My Device: BB Curve 8520
My Carrier: Loop Mobile
Accepted Solution

BB Maps !?!?!

Hey guys
I hv recently purchased a bb curve 8520 nd m a resident of Mumbai-India ... Whn I open bb maps frm my home screen it jus says no data wid a blank screen .. Is der neway to get it wrkng .. I srsly need maps a lot .. Pls help
W8ng fr reply
Ŧĥñƙš in advance
Posts: 96,067
Likes: 24,621
Solutions: 6,421
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: BB Maps !?!?!

Do you have a BlackBerry Data Plan on your mobile provider account?

You must, to use BlackBerryMaps.



1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-05-2011
My Device: BB Curve 8520
My Carrier: Loop Mobile

Re: BB Maps !?!?!

Yeaaa I hv d data plan activated ☺η my celll ... As well as I hv a wifi connction at my place tooo ... Ŧĥñƙš fr rplyng
Super Contributor
Posts: 484
Registered: ‎01-10-2011
My Device: Xperia Ray
My Carrier: Dhiraagu Maldives

Re: BB Maps !?!?!

so you have the both DATA + WiFi connection.. well, using which connection u're trying to access and the meanwhile can you let us know whether have you subscribed for the blackberry service???

 

to check whether you're connected to the blackberry network or not.. you can see EDGE, 3G or GPRS within the networks bars on your device.. and either one of them should be in upper case (caps letters)... if not, you're not connected to the network nor u dun have the bb service.. should contact ur provider for further assistance Smiley Happy

.RoCkInG dUdE.
Trust Your Technolust | Do not PM for any support
If a solution received, please hit on to show your support.
Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-05-2011
My Device: BB Curve 8520
My Carrier: Loop Mobile

Re: BB Maps !?!?!

I tried cnncntng both of dem .. Yea I hv subscribed to d bb service ... Aaaahh .. Yea it shows edge writtn in caps nxt to d network bars .. Whras ders no tick (ryt syd) nxt to d wifi options in manage connection .. Bt still I cn browse web pages ...
Super Contributor
Posts: 484
Registered: ‎01-10-2011
My Device: Xperia Ray
My Carrier: Dhiraagu Maldives

Re: BB Maps !?!?!

Indeed BB Maps sometimes don't work for most south asian region... but, I've no clue on that since I can't confirm you officially...

 

as an alternative option, you can either try google maps... goto m.google.com and try downloasing google maps & using it.. Smiley Happy

.RoCkInG dUdE.
Trust Your Technolust | Do not PM for any support
If a solution received, please hit on to show your support.
Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-05-2011
My Device: BB Curve 8520
My Carrier: Loop Mobile

Re: BB Maps !?!?!

Ummm ... Ŧĥñƙš fr d suggestion mahn ... Bt ill still prefer usng bb maps rather den 3rd party apps ... Sme1 els hs ne clue abt dis ?? .. Is dis prob nly wid ma celll or all mumbai residents ??? ..
Super Contributor
Posts: 484
Registered: ‎01-10-2011
My Device: Xperia Ray
My Carrier: Dhiraagu Maldives

Re: BB Maps !?!?!

well, I've no idea on that coz maps not working for srilanka either.. may be that we dun have GPS facility here within the country itself nor providers have not given us... I always use google maps.. even-though, it's a 3rd party software it is pretty cool Smiley Happy

.RoCkInG dUdE.
Trust Your Technolust | Do not PM for any support
If a solution received, please hit on to show your support.
Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-05-2011
My Device: BB Curve 8520
My Carrier: Loop Mobile

Re: BB Maps !?!?!

Ohhh I c ... Yeaaa .. I downloaded it ... Its nt a bad appp .. Yet It will do ... Ŧĥñƙš fr d help guysss ...
Posts: 96,067
Likes: 24,621
Solutions: 6,421
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: BB Maps !?!?!

I don't know where you're physically located, but here is a list of the areas where BBMaps is supported:

http://us.blackberry.com/smartphones/features/blackberry_maps_more.jsp#tab_tab_coverage

 

Ditto on using Google Maps... very nice application.



1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code