Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-28-2012
My Device: Bold 9900
My Carrier: DU

BB9900 shows 3G in Display but setting is 2G

[ Edited ]

Hi everybody.

My Bold comes back from a repair,gets Software update, new Cam and new speaker.

I put my backup back and found out that when I set the Network to 2G only, that the display shows permanent 3G.

Is there somebody who have the same mistake and know's the solution?

My battery is running out to fast cause the mobile is always at 3G which cost to much power.

I appreciate all answers and advises to solve the problem.

By the way, software is on latest version.

BB Bold 9900

7.1 Paket 2061 (v 7.1.0.714 Platform 5.1.0.532)

Branding Version 1.0.88.632A

 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Black Berry Bold9900 - DU UAE - 7.1 Paket 2061(v7.1.0.714 Platform 5.1.0.532
Retired
Posts: 2,283
Registered: ‎09-09-2010
My Device: BlackBerry Z10 Smartphone

Re: BB9900 shows 3G in Display but setting is 2G

Hey vossibaer,

Welcome to the BlackBerry® Support Community Forums.

 

Being connected to just 3G would use the same amount of battery power as being connected to 2G, but if you are in a pour coverage area and the BlackBerry® smartphone is automatically switching back and forth between the two could have an effect on battery power.

 

For some great tips on extending the battery life of the BlackBerry® smartphone please have a look at the follow Inside BlackBerry® Help Blog on Extending BlackBerry 6 and BlackBerry 7 battery life:

http://helpblog.blackberry.com/2011/10/extending-blackberry-6-blackberry-7-battery-life/

 

Cheers!

-HB

 

Come follow your BlackBerry Technical Team on twitter! @BlackBerryHelp

Be sure to click Kudos! for those who have helped you.

Click Solution? for posts that have solved your issue(s)!

Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-28-2012
My Device: Bold 9900
My Carrier: DU

Re: BB9900 shows 3G in Display but setting is 2G

Hi thanks for the reply.
The network is very good, so that is not a problem.
The problem is that I make the setting to 2G only and it shows in display permanent 3G. That can not be right it should show EDGE not 3G. So I think there is something wrong and I search for a useful help to solve this problem.
Maybe someone else in this forum have had the same problem before.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Black Berry Bold9900 - DU UAE - 7.1 Paket 2061(v7.1.0.714 Platform 5.1.0.532