Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Reply
Regular Contributor
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎03-22-2012
My Device: Q10
My Carrier: EE

BBM setup and radio

After 30 or so attempts and the usual " not enough WiFi" messages my 9700 gets to the next stage of setup but then says "turn on radio and try again" - for the life of me I can't see how to do this - probably somewhere really obvious....

SusanHB on Twitter.......
Posts: 95,170
Likes: 24,504
Solutions: 6,378
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: BBM setup and radio

Go to your Options/Settings > Manage Connections screen > WiFi Network... are you connected to a WiFi router or does your device see a WiFi network?

 

I am not sure what this has to do with your BBMessenger... can you please explain?



1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Regular Contributor
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎03-22-2012
My Device: Q10
My Carrier: EE

Re: BBM setup and radio

WiFi working absolutely fine. It's just when I try and set up BBM I get either "Cannot set up BBM Insufficient wireless coverage" (which is rubbish" or it goes to the "setting up BBM" and will do nothing - have left it like that for 4hrs at one point, or I get the message "turn radio on".

SusanHB on Twitter.......
Posts: 95,170
Likes: 24,504
Solutions: 6,378
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: BBM setup and radio

Do you have a BlackBerry Data Plan enabled on your account with your carrier or mobile provider?



1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Regular Contributor
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎03-22-2012
My Device: Q10
My Carrier: EE

Re: BBM setup and radio

Mmmmm no idea. I have an all singing all dancing plan with T mobile which I used with my Galaxy S3 - just bought the BB handset. Do I need to get something specifically Blackberry with them - don't relish the thought of trying to contact a human being...

SusanHB on Twitter.......
Posts: 95,170
Likes: 24,504
Solutions: 6,378
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: BBM setup and radio


MINIBondGirl wrote:

Mmmmm no idea. I have an all singing all dancing plan with T mobile which I used with my Galaxy S3 - just bought the BB handset. Do I need to get something specifically Blackberry with them - don't relish the thought of trying to contact a human being...


You must, in order to get BlackBerry data services such as the internet browser, Facebook for BlackBerry, BlackBerry Messenger, email and much more.

So, call your carrier and inquire about having the BlackBerry Data Plan added to your account.

Good luck.



1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Regular Contributor
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎03-22-2012
My Device: Q10
My Carrier: EE

Re: BBM setup and radio

????? But I do use FB, Twitter, internet etc all fine. Its just BBM and email.

SusanHB on Twitter.......
Posts: 95,170
Likes: 24,504
Solutions: 6,378
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: BBM setup and radio

ok.

 

On your Manage Connections screen, click on the Services Status.
What is the status of the BlackBerry Internet Service?



1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code