Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Highlighted
New Contributor
My Device: Bold 9930
My Carrier: Cell C

BIS not activated on Verizon Wireless Cell C Sim card

Hi there,

I'm hoping someone can help me.

I bought my BB9930 from BidorBuy on a Verizon Wireless network. I have been using MTN for 10+ years, and have just recently bought and RICA'd a Cell C sim card.
I have contacted the seller (Cerrone - bidorbuy@gamesol.co.za) asking if my phone was unlocked to all networks and it is. Quote "If your phone is on and can make and receive calls in its current state, it is unlocked" Unquote. I have full Cell C network coverage on 3G and can make and receive calls, send and receive SMSes. I have also done the following, Options>Device>Advanced System Options>Sim Card>Typing MEPD and the following shows:
ID: 89270763312110420188
Sim - Disabled
Network - Inactive
Network Subset - Disabled
Service Provider - Disabled
Corporate - Disabled

He suggested doing the following: inserting my Cell C sim card into my old BB8520, activating my BIS on there and once activated, put my sim card back into my 9930. So I did that, and waited for the confirmation on my 8520 and BBMs started coming through no problem. Once I put my sim back into my 9930, the BIS was not activated at all. I still kept getting a message from BB Protect telling me that the service plan for your Blackberry does not support this application. And there is also no BB sign next to my 3G signal bar. I have purchased the full BIS Service plan.