Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Reply
Guru I
Posts: 19,017
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Passport, Playbook, 9320BES
My Carrier: Bouygues _ SFR

Re: Battery

is this a 9530 ? If so, you can assign the phone connection to GSM/3G and not "Global" which will consume energy trying to find CDMA.
did you deactivate the GPS location automatic refresh?

are yo familiar with Blackberry devices?
whenyou are new with BlackBerry devices, you open applications but when you're done, you reduce them instead of closing them.
click on the menu button for 2s, the application ribbon switcher will appear. There should be nothing apart from :
home screen
phone logs
messages
blackberry messenger
browser

close all other applications.



The search box on top-right of this page is your true friend, and the public Knowledge Base too:
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-02-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Battery

I'm totally new to BBs so I'm afraid I don't understand your first paragraph Xandrex/ wouldn't know what to do if I did; could you explain in laymen's terms please, sort of button by button?

 

In the application ribbon switcher I have those you listed but also Vodafone live and Application center. Visiting them both and then hiting Exit/ Close doesn't seem to remove them from the ribbon. Is there another way/ what might I not be doing correctly?

 

Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.

 

Thanks,

***********************************************************************
If I successfully help you with an issue, thank you for clicking "kudos" in my post.
If your issue has been solved, please resolve this thread by marking the post which solved it for you!
Guru I
Posts: 19,017
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Passport, Playbook, 9320BES
My Carrier: Bouygues _ SFR

Re: Battery

[ Edited ]

Xandrex wrote:
is this a 9530 ? If so, you can assign the phone connection to GSM/3G and not "Global" which will consume energy trying to find CDMA.

home screen >> manage connections >> Mobile network options

 

if your carrier is Verizon or other that uses CDMA then choose :

Network technology=1XEV

 

if other (you are Vodafone Europe so this applies to you), then choose :

Network technology=GSM/UMTS

 

 


Xandrex wrote:
did you deactivate the GPS location automatic refresh?


if you don't use the GPS feature often, you can deactivate it.

home screen >> options >>  advanced options >> gps

select GPS services = Location off

 

Message Edited by Xandrex on 03-02-2009 04:20 PM



The search box on top-right of this page is your true friend, and the public Knowledge Base too:
New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-01-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Battery

I can't seem to get the application center out of the application ribbon switcher, how do you do this?
Hall of Famer III
Posts: 57,242
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: PRIV (6.0.1/AAF518), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: Battery


vpisano wrote:
I can't seem to get the application center out of the application ribbon switcher, how do you do this?

Somewhere in this forum was a thread about that. As I recall, it turned out to be the auto-refresh capability of the app center -- with auto-refresh on, the app center is always running, and hence always displayed on the app swticher ribbon.



Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................
New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-01-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Battery

Thanks, that did it!