Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-29-2012
My Device: 9380
My Carrier: Du

Black Berry 9380 Phone not working in India

Hi Team,

 

I purchased a mobile in Dubai and when i took it back to india for a short vacation couldn't use since it was not recognized the India Sim card.

 

I dont have any problem with the UAE sims,

 

kindly Suggest . As far as i know it is not Locked.

Elite II
Posts: 7,974
Registered: ‎06-01-2012
My Device: Curve
My Carrier: BSNL

Re: Black Berry 9380 Phone not working in India

Hi pravinkris

 

Welcome to BlackBerry Support Forums

 

 

Are you sure its an  UNlock BlackBerry ? Are you using BIS on UAE ?  

___________________________________________________________________________

Click " Like " if you want to Thank someone.
If Problem Resolves mark the post(s) as " Solution ", so that other can make use of it.
Elite II
Posts: 9,321
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Torch 9800
My Carrier: grameenphone

Re: Black Berry 9380 Phone not working in India

Usually BlackBerry devices comes with network locked to a particular mobile service provider. Check with your mobile service provider to now whether your device is unlocked or not.

tanzim                                                                                  
If your query is resolved then please click on Accept as Solution

Click on the LIKE on the bottom right if the post deserves credit

Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-29-2012
My Device: 9380
My Carrier: Du

Re: Black Berry 9380 Phone not working in India

Hi Frnd,

Thanks for the prompt response . As far as i know the shop person didn't mentioned anything about the locked thing to me.

 

However how can i know if it is actually locked or not.

Elite II
Posts: 7,974
Registered: ‎06-01-2012
My Device: Curve
My Carrier: BSNL

Re: Black Berry 9380 Phone not working in India

Hi pravinkris

 

 

 Here's how to find out if your BlackBerry is locked or unlocked:

 

OS 5.0 below:

 

Options > Advanced Options > SIM Card

 

 

OS 6.0 above:

 

Options > Device > Advanced System Settings SIM Card

 

Type MEPD on the screen( You won't see those letter you typed ) .It will pop up a screen like this:

 

ID:   xxxxxxxxx

SIM:

Network:

Service Provider :

 

 If you see Activated, your BlackBerry is LOCKED. And if its Disabled, then your BlackBerry is UNLOCKED.

 

___________________________________________________________________________

Click " Like " if you want to Thank someone.
If Problem Resolves mark the post(s) as " Solution ", so that other can make use of it.
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-29-2012
My Device: 9380
My Carrier: Du

Re: Black Berry 9380 Phone not working in India

Hi Prince,

I was not able to Type MEPD . Anyway i could see
ID :899 XXXXXX
Phonr Numbers - Blank
unknown Umber - Blank

and all seems to be diabled state ...
Elite II
Posts: 7,974
Registered: ‎06-01-2012
My Device: Curve
My Carrier: BSNL

Re: Black Berry 9380 Phone not working in India

Hi pravinkris

 

 

                       No not that screen . If your BlackBerry has a Sure Type keyboard then you had to double- tap the P in order to enter MEPD.

___________________________________________________________________________

Click " Like " if you want to Thank someone.
If Problem Resolves mark the post(s) as " Solution ", so that other can make use of it.
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-29-2012
My Device: 9380
My Carrier: Du

Re: Black Berry 9380 Phone not working in India

Hi Prince,

Ya it worked ...now i am seeing follwoing
ID :- 899 XXXXX
Personalization
SIM - Disabled
Network - Disabled
Network Subset , Service provider , corporate - all Disabled
Phone numbers - Blank
Unknow numbers - Blank

Kindly suggest.
Elite II
Posts: 7,974
Registered: ‎06-01-2012
My Device: Curve
My Carrier: BSNL

Re: Black Berry 9380 Phone not working in India

Hi Pravinkris

From the information you provided it appears that you have a unlock device.By the way which service provider SIM card you are using ? It might be possible that your Sim card is not yet activated. Can you call them to confirm that !
___________________________________________________________________________

Click " Like " if you want to Thank someone.
If Problem Resolves mark the post(s) as " Solution ", so that other can make use of it.