Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Highlighted
Guru I
My Device: Passport, Playbook, 9320BES
My Carrier: Bouygues _ SFR

Re: BlackBerry Desktop Manager 4.5 Sync is Very Slow

philhughes wrote:
I'm still a huge novice with the BB - but ... Do you have OS 4.5 on your device. I saw somewhere that the device & desktop versions must match. They may be fighting each other if they don't match. Just a thought
That is not correct. Versions of Desktop Manager and the Handheld software OS are independent. As a matter of fact, most users today use Desktop Manager 4.5 or 4.3 with a Software OS 4.2, since OS 4.5 is not officially available except for the 8330.

The search box on top-right of this page is your true friend, and the public Knowledge Base too:
New Contributor
My Device: Not Specified

I too am having considerable problems syncing my BB 8830 through Desktop Manger 4.5.  First of all, it is considerably slower than through past DMs.  Secondly -- it keeps mixing up all of my contacts -- blending them almost.  I have changed all of the synchronization settings such that it should be a one-way sync with the Outlook data replacing all of the data on the device.  Yet it still gives me all of these bizarre conflicts.  Finally -- when synching my calendar, I keep getting "duration" conflicts.  I have never had this problem before.

If I uninstall 4.5 and reinstall a lesser version -- do I need to delete my sync logs in order to have more success?

Any assistance is appreciated!

New Contributor

I have returned to Desktop Manager 4.1.  It works fine and is many times faster than 4.5.
New Contributor
My Device: 9000 Bold

And so is 4.7...

I can NOT believe anybody from RIM has anything to say. It's been months without a solution to this.