Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-28-2011
My Device: Torch 9800
My Carrier: AT&T

BlackBerry Torch 9800 WiFi Problems

I recently got a new Blackberry 9800 for Christmas... and I connected to my home's wifi so I wouldn't eat up my data plan. When I first used it, it was fine and working properly. However, after a few hours, I would lose connectivity. On my phone, the wifi bars are all full and white (I can use my apps that require internet but I can't use the browser),  but the blackberry symbol does not appear next to it. When the blackberry symbol is next to the wifi bar, the browser works. Ever since I connected the blackberry to the my home's wifi, all devices next to it have limited connectivity. At random times, one device will lose connection to the internet and will not be able to use the internet, including phones and computers. I have to unplug my router just so the internet works for a few minutes. And when I disable the wifi on the blackberry all devices are able to work. When I contacted comcast, they said it was a compatibility problem with the blackberry and the router. The router is about a year old and is a d-link router. Should I buy a new router??? or what other options do I have?

Guru III
Posts: 32,116
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry PRIV, Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook,BT Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: BlackBerry Torch 9800 WiFi Problems

What model Dlink?
Have you tried to update the router firmware?

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 12 and BES 5.0.4 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2012 Hyper V


Super Contributor
Posts: 264
Registered: ‎02-01-2011
My Device: Torch 9800 .246/.448/.526/.666/.706

Re: BlackBerry Torch 9800 WiFi Problems

It is possibly the router.

I have a nice router but I've added a few more devices and sometimes one device will get kicked off by the router because there is not enough "room" provided by my router. I have one that I paid about $40 for and out tech at work says I need to upgrade to a router that is duel band. That way, I'd have enough room for all the wireless game platforms + the 4 laptops, and the Torch.

Follow BBOSGhostryder on Twitter
Don't forget to click on the Like button if you like the answer to your post and/or click on "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved.
Live your life in such away that when your feet hit the floor in the morning, satan shudders & says..."Oh **** he's awake".
Guru III
Posts: 32,116
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry PRIV, Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook,BT Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: BlackBerry Torch 9800 WiFi Problems

True there are some router that handle the dual bands better than others.

 

many oder routers only work on 2.4 ghz and newer ones on 5

The latest ones have 2 SSID's one for each band  and this can help with connecitons when a device like the torch needs to run at 2.4 ghz.

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 12 and BES 5.0.4 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2012 Hyper V


Super Contributor
Posts: 264
Registered: ‎02-01-2011
My Device: Torch 9800 .246/.448/.526/.666/.706

Re: BlackBerry Torch 9800 Wife Problems

I have discovered that my router cannot provide enough power to deal with 3 gaming platforms and 4 laptops. It didn't occur to me that I had set up the game platforms to access wifi.

I must upgrade to the higher powered router that you describe having 2 SSID's one for each band.

Follow BBOSGhostryder on Twitter
Don't forget to click on the Like button if you like the answer to your post and/or click on "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved.
Live your life in such away that when your feet hit the floor in the morning, satan shudders & says..."Oh **** he's awake".
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-28-2011
My Device: Torch 9800
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: BlackBerry Torch 9800 WiFi Problems

When connected to the WiFi, does your torch say it is connected and not allow you to use your browser? Or is it just disconnected overall?

Guru III
Posts: 32,116
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry PRIV, Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook,BT Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: BlackBerry Torch 9800 WiFi Problems

I use a Netgear WGT624 v3 with a Torch, Bold 9000, 2 laptops, Wii and a tablet at home with out issue.

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 12 and BES 5.0.4 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2012 Hyper V


Super Contributor
Posts: 264
Registered: ‎02-01-2011
My Device: Torch 9800 .246/.448/.526/.666/.706

Re: BlackBerry Torch 9800 WiFi Problems

 


knottyrope wrote:

I use a Netgear WGT624 v3 with a Torch, Bold 9000, 2 laptops, Wii and a tablet at home with out issue.


Thanks, I will look at that router.

 

Follow BBOSGhostryder on Twitter
Don't forget to click on the Like button if you like the answer to your post and/or click on "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved.
Live your life in such away that when your feet hit the floor in the morning, satan shudders & says..."Oh **** he's awake".
Guru III
Posts: 32,116
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry PRIV, Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook,BT Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: BlackBerry Torch 9800 WiFi Problems

For a little more money, we use a higher grade with multi antennaes WPN824 v3 at our offices.

 

With 50+ laptops, PDA, smartphones connected, I still get my 9800 to work fine everyday.

 

BB logo next to wifi all the time.

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 12 and BES 5.0.4 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2012 Hyper V


New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-28-2011
My Device: Torch 9800
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: BlackBerry Torch 9800 WiFi Problems

How much does it cost? The only problem with the internet is the browser that doesn't work... all apps work. Is this the same problem for you guys? But, with the browser not working, this takes away YouTube, these forums, browsing the internet, google, app downloads, etc.