Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎09-04-2009
My Device: Not Specified
Accepted Solution

BlackBerry User Tools?

I just read what J Sanders wrote and my experience has been just the opposite. I am trading my Tours in for the Storms. My brother just loves his and he uses it everyday. My question is, I down loaded the Blackberry Desktop Manager and have used it on the Tour and I am wondering if I need to down load another manager or can I use the one that I have?

 

Thanks in advance for any reply.

 

D Roberts

Hall of Famer III
Posts: 58,176
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: DTEK50 (AAH108), PRIV (AAH995), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1917)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: BlackBerry User Tools?

Hi and Welcome to the Forums!

 

The only change needed would be if you have installed, atop DTM, the device OS for your Tour...you'd want to uninstall that and replace it with the device OS package for your Storm. Otherwise, the base DTM is the same. If you've got 5.0 DTM, then you should be fine.

 

Good luck!


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................
New Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎09-04-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: BlackBerry User Tools?

I am sorry I meant rickpond not J Sanders. He replied to rickpond.
New Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎09-04-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: BlackBerry User Tools?

Thanks for the info. I have DTM 5.0 but how can I determine if the os for the Tour was installed? You know sometimes just happen and even don't even realize it.
Hall of Famer III
Posts: 58,176
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: DTEK50 (AAH108), PRIV (AAH995), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1917)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: BlackBerry User Tools?

Well, there would have been two install steps. The first one for DTM and a second install for the device OS package. In Add/Remove programs of the PC, there would be someting for the device software -- mine says "BlackBerry Device Software v4.7.0 for the BlackBerry 9530 smartphone"...if I were undertaking the process, that is what I would uninstall and replace with the device OS package for my new BB. If it's not on yours, then the device package may not have been installed to the PC.

Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................