Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎07-18-2012
My Device: Bold 9900

Re: Blackberry Bold 9900 Major Issues!!!

Buy another phone and sell the 9900 to cover the cost?

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-01-2012
My Device: 9900
My Carrier: vodafone

Re: Blackberry Bold 9900 Major Issues!!!

blackberry just lost me as a customer my new iphone 4s is on way, if blackberry thinks that the problems they have will just blow over then they are crazy, i would of stayed if they could have sorted it all out and also came out and put there hands up and said they have big problems,think they need new PR people,and as for my old 9900 Blackberry i chucked it in the sea,instead of selling it as i dont want anyone else to have the same aggro as i have and i have had three of them in 8 months ........so blackberry if you read this please think about the amount of customers you are losing do you want to go the same way nokia have

Contributor
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎07-18-2012
My Device: Bold 9900

Re: Blackberry Bold 9900 Major Issues!!!

1) This forum is not a voice to RIM (as has been stated multiple times).

2) You could still sell the phone for parts repair, rather than illegally disposing of electronics...

 

Hall of Famer III
Posts: 58,151
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: DTEK50 (AAH108), PRIV (AAH995), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1917)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: Blackberry Bold 9900 Major Issues!!!

[ Edited ]

papped wrote:

1) This forum is not a voice to RIM (as has been stated multiple times).

2) You could still sell the phone for parts repair, rather than illegally disposing of electronics...

 


Indeed!!! To add to your point 2, one can only wonder how much wildlife was killed or otherwise harmed after ahubbard "chucked it in the sea"...


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-01-2012
My Device: 9900
My Carrier: vodafone

Re: Blackberry Bold 9900 Major Issues!!!

to be honest if RIM keep on as they are they will also be joining my phone asthe company is sinking fast , and please dont get me wrong i like blackberry but when a company cant sort out the problems and i had 3 9900 in what about 8 months all with same issues then this suggests lack of commitment from RIM to its users,my wife has a 9900 and hers is also playing around and i will be getting rid of that and getting iphone 4s aswell for her, but think i mite crush her phone and send that to RIM to show them how customers are feeling.

New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-06-2012
My Device: Bold 9900
My Carrier: Claro

Re: Blackberry Bold 9900 Major Issues!!!

I want to update my bold 9900 to 7.1 software but I can't because its says that it is up to date.. and its on 7.0 software.. do anyone knows how to fix this? and yes my Desktop software its 7.1 version but for more than i try i just cant update my phone to 7.0.1.
Hall of Famer III
Posts: 58,151
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: DTEK50 (AAH108), PRIV (AAH995), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1917)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: Blackberry Bold 9900 Major Issues!!!


DannyEskelsen wrote:
I want to update my bold 9900 to 7.1 software but I can't because its says that it is up to date.. and its on 7.0 software.. do anyone knows how to fix this? and yes my Desktop software its 7.1 version but for more than i try i just cant update my phone to 7.0.1.

Hello,

The simplest way is to, on a PC (you cannot do this on MAC):

1) Uninstall, from your PC, any BB OS packages

2) Make sure you have the BB Desktop Software already installed

3) Download and install, to your PC, the BB OS package you desire:

4) If that OS package is from a carrier other than the carrier for which your BB was originally manufactured, then delete, on your PC, all copies of VENDOR.XML...there will be at least one, and perhaps 2, and they will be located in or similarly to (it changes based on your Windows version) these folders:

  • C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Research In Motion\AppLoader
  • C:\Users\(your Windows UserName)\AppData\Roaming\Research In Motion\BlackBerry\Loader XML

5) Launch the Desktop Software and connect your BB...the software should offer you the OS package you installed to your PC. If, during the process, your BB presents a "507" error, simply unplug the USB cord from the BB and re-insert it...don't do anything else...this should allow the install to continue.

Don't forget to backup.


If you are on MAC, you are limited to only your carriers sanctioned OS packages...but can still use any levels that they currently sanction. See this procedure:

  • KB19915How to perform a clean reload of BlackBerry smartphone application software using BlackBerry Desktop Software

Good luck and let us know!


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................
Contributor
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎10-09-2011
My Device: Bold 9930
My Carrier: UTS

Re: Blackberry Bold 9900 Major Issues!!!

But that rebooting issue isnt solved by this, cause the device wont turn on!!!!!!

Hall of Famer III
Posts: 58,151
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: DTEK50 (AAH108), PRIV (AAH995), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1917)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: Blackberry Bold 9900 Major Issues!!!


rombout wrote:

But that rebooting issue isnt solved by this, cause the device wont turn on!!!!!!


Ummm...pardon, but why does this matter to you now? Earlier in this thread, you said that you already switched to iPhone, so the functionality of your BB is no longer relevant, right? Or do I misunderstand something?


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................
Contributor
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎10-09-2011
My Device: Bold 9930
My Carrier: UTS

Re: Blackberry Bold 9900 Major Issues!!!

perhaps cause i have a really expensive device here catheing dust. At the this point of not working i cant sell it...