Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

New Contributor
My Device: Not Specified

Blackberry Curve 8310 can it connect using WiFi

I am a newbie but consider myself somewhat of a techno file.

I just purchased this Blackberry Curve 8310The AT&T sales rep assured me that this model was WiFi capableHe has one and said his didI bought it on his recommendation of that statementIs this my Brooklyn Bridge?

This is the most frustrating  phone to work on as nowhere in it's application menu does it allow for a WiFi connection.

Am I incorrect and am I missing some simple toggle to turn that feature on?  

Can anyone steer me in the right direction?

ucffather

Contributor

Re: Blackberry Curve 8310 can it connect using WiFi

Hello Ucffather,

Unfortunately the curve 8310 does not have WiFi capabilities, its the curve 8320 that does.  Just to verify go to your Manage Connection icon, where you would turn on your Bluetooth and mobile network radio.  If you have an option to turn on WiFi then you device has WiFi capabilities, if there is no WiFi option in there then your device does not have WiFi capabilities.

New Contributor

I guess I was misled by an inexperienced sales person. I called him today to tell me how he gets wifi on his 8310 only to find out he turned it off and now can't seem to remember what app restarts it.

He told me his activated right out of the box as soon as he fired it up as he walked into his home.

On my Berry box there was a MAC address what was that for?

Thanks for your rapid reply,

Steve 

Contributor

Hello Ucffather,

Unfortuneately the sales person must not know what his own device modile is or he/she assumes all Curves come with WiFi.

The below link will bring you to a page on BlackBerry's website that gives the exact spec's of the 8310.