Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones


Thank you for visiting the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

BlackBerry will be closing the BlackBerry Support Community Forums Device Forums on April 1st (Developers, see below)

BlackBerry remains committed to providing excellent customer support to our customers. We are delighted to direct you to the CrackBerry Forums, a well-established and thorough support channel, for continued BlackBerry support. Please visit http://forums.crackberry.com or http://crackberry.com/ask. You can also continue to visit BlackBerry Support or the BlackBerry Knowledge Base for official support options available for your BlackBerry Smartphone.

"When we launched CrackBerry.com 10 years ago, we set out to make it a fun and useful destination where BlackBerry Smartphone owners could share their excitement and learn to unleash the full potential of their BlackBerry. A decade later, the CrackBerry community is as active and passionate as ever and I know our knowledgeable members and volunteers will be excited to welcome and assist more BlackBerry owners with their questions."

- Kevin Michaluk, Founder, CrackBerry.com

Developers, for more information about the BlackBerry Developer Community please review Join the Conversation on the BlackBerry Developer Community Forums found on Inside BlackBerry.


Reply
Hall of Famer III
Posts: 59,104
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: DTEK50 (AAI82), PRIV (AAI795), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1917)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: Blackberry Curve 8520 - UPDATE NOT WORKING!

Note that there will be more things to try if those fail...

There is also a handy utility called BBSAK that could be useful (BBSAK.ORG).

 

Good luck!


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................
Highlighted
Contributor
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎12-11-2012
My Device: Bla
My Carrier: T-Mobile

Re: Blackberry Curve 8520 - UPDATE NOT WORKING!

Thank you so much for all your help!

 

Trying everything I can at the moment Smiley Sad

 

The phones connected up to to the charger and the screens black so... no idea but I hope its doing 'something' atleast!

 

Gonna wait for these 4 hours to pass Smiley Sad

 

I want my blackberry back Smiley Sad 

Contributor
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎12-11-2012
My Device: Bla
My Carrier: T-Mobile

Re: Blackberry Curve 8520 - UPDATE NOT WORKING!

I tried the kick start to the battery and its still the same problem.

Phone over heats and battery drains...

 

Nothing else seems to be working Smiley Sad any advice?

Hall of Famer III
Posts: 59,104
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: DTEK50 (AAI82), PRIV (AAI795), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1917)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: Blackberry Curve 8520 - UPDATE NOT WORKING!

Yes...that is part 1 of what I gave you in post 9...what about part 2 in that post? As well as what I already gave you in post 11?

Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................
Contributor
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎12-11-2012
My Device: Bla
My Carrier: T-Mobile

Re: Blackberry Curve 8520 - UPDATE NOT WORKING!

the problem i face with that is : whenever i put a charger into the phone either connected to usb or to the charger, the screen fades fully white

 

i can connect it to the pc but do i then just reload software again?

Hall of Famer III
Posts: 59,104
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: DTEK50 (AAI82), PRIV (AAI795), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1917)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: Blackberry Curve 8520 - UPDATE NOT WORKING!


KingFalcon wrote:

 

i can connect it to the pc but do i then just reload software again?


Maybe, but the tests I'm trying to convince you to run will help determine if that is a worthwhile course of action or not.


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................
Contributor
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎12-11-2012
My Device: Bla
My Carrier: T-Mobile

Re: Blackberry Curve 8520 - UPDATE NOT WORKING!

yep im willing to try anything...

 

i'll try and do an update to the blackberry now and see if that helps...

 

 

Hall of Famer III
Posts: 59,104
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: DTEK50 (AAI82), PRIV (AAI795), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1917)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: Blackberry Curve 8520 - UPDATE NOT WORKING!

Well, from what you've said, I'm not yet convinced that'll be worthwhile...but all we do is advise, you make your own choices.

Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................
Contributor
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎12-11-2012
My Device: Bla
My Carrier: T-Mobile

Re: Blackberry Curve 8520 - UPDATE NOT WORKING!

im thankful for the help you've given, im trying to get my blackberry back up and running...

 

if you dont think that an update is what is required, what do you advise i should do...?

 

im thankful for any help given

Hall of Famer III
Posts: 59,104
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: DTEK50 (AAI82), PRIV (AAI795), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1917)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: Blackberry Curve 8520 - UPDATE NOT WORKING!

Honestly...you can start by reading what I've already advised...try post 14 above for instance...I'm trying desperately to get you to carry out the 2nd part of post 9 above...but for whatever reason, you are not even acknowledging that bit of advice even exists...

And it's the result of that "known good" battery test that will help to narrow down what I believe your next step should be. If your BB works fine with a different "known good" battery and the other BB fails with your battery, then your next step would be to buy a replacement battery (and reloading your OS would be neither helpful nor necessary). But, if your BB acts the same with a "known good" battery and the other BB has no issue using your battery, then your BB is the root cause, which would then indicate that you need to follow perhaps the steps in post 11.

But choosing any course without the results of that test is totally shooting in the dark...which you can choose to do, btw...again, it's your choice as to what you want to actually attempt.

Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................