Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Reply
Highlighted
New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-22-2010
My Device: Curve 8530
My Carrier: Verizon

Blackberry Curve 8530 and OS6

I downloaded the new OS 6 and lost all my email contacts.  I have 2 emails on my phone.  One is personal and one is for work.  I lost all my personal contacts and phone #'s .  Is the OS 6 compatible with the 8530?  I reversed it and went back to 5.0 but I would like to put on the new OS, but I am afraid it will happen again. 

 

Thanks

 

Super Contributor
Posts: 288
Registered: ‎09-03-2010
My Device: 9850
My Carrier: Sprint

Re: Blackberry Curve 8530 and OS6

OS6 is not compatible with the 8530

----------------------
"Cats may taste like chicken, but they have more bones than rabbits."

Blackberry 101
Tips & Tricks
Videos to learn from on youtube
Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎02-03-2009
My Device: Curve 8530
My Carrier: Sprint OS 5.0.0.459

Re: Blackberry Curve 8530 and OS6

Were you able to install OS6 on your 8530?  I would like to try it but have no idea how to install the 9330 version on another model but it seems like it should go.  Any info you have is helpful.  Thanks

Super Contributor
Posts: 288
Registered: ‎09-03-2010
My Device: 9850
My Carrier: Sprint

Re: Blackberry Curve 8530 and OS6

 


dguiley wrote:

Were you able to install OS6 on your 8530?  I would like to try it but have no idea how to install the 9330 version on another model but it seems like it should go.  Any info you have is helpful.  Thanks


Again, refering to my above post, OS6 is not compatible with the 8500 series phones. It was not meant to be installed on them, and will only cause you grief in attempting to do so.

 

----------------------
"Cats may taste like chicken, but they have more bones than rabbits."

Blackberry 101
Tips & Tricks
Videos to learn from on youtube
New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-24-2011
My Device: blackberry 8530
My Carrier: 8530

Re: Blackberry Curve 8530 and OS6

will ther ever be an os 6for the blackberry 8530

Developer
Posts: 409
Registered: ‎06-13-2011
My Device: Z10, Playbook
My Carrier: Econet

Re: Blackberry Curve 8530 and OS6

As a BB user, before you do anything with your BB "always" backup!
Twitter: @IAmBenGiey | Click " Like " if you want to Thank someone.
If Problem Resolves mark the post(s) as " Solution ", so that other can make use of it.

Try my apps:
The Ultimate Currency Converter and T2G - BloGFeed
Developer
Posts: 409
Registered: ‎06-13-2011
My Device: Z10, Playbook
My Carrier: Econet

Re: Blackberry Curve 8530 and OS6

 
Twitter: @IAmBenGiey | Click " Like " if you want to Thank someone.
If Problem Resolves mark the post(s) as " Solution ", so that other can make use of it.

Try my apps:
The Ultimate Currency Converter and T2G - BloGFeed
Elite II
Posts: 8,978
Registered: ‎01-05-2009
My Device: BlackBerry Z30
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Blackberry Curve 8530 and OS6

To expand on drknobs's reply, the Curve 8530 has 256 MB of onboard memory.  Yes, you can install OS 6 on the 8530, but you're going to see a LOT of lagging and freezing up.  There just isn't enough power under the hood to operate OS 6.  Any phone running OS 6 should have atleast 512 MB of memory.

 

 

I hope that clears things up.  Smiley Happy


- If my response has helped you, please click "Options" beside my post and mark it as solved. Clicking the "thumbs up" icon near the bottom of my response would also be appreciated.



New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-08-2011
My Device: non-blackberry user
My Carrier: none- blackberry user

Re: Blackberry Curve 8530 and OS6

can i put in the blackberry 8530 a 512 MB of memory ? and would it then work to update it to os 6 ?
Contributor
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎06-19-2011
My Device: Curve 8530
My Carrier: Koodo Mobile

Re: Blackberry Curve 8530 and OS6

No unfortunately BB's don't utilize installed memory from MicroSD cards. They are referring to the included onboard memory. Trust me I have tried many tricks to attempt to use OS 6 on my 8530 and to no avail. You'll enjoy your BB experience a lot more sticking with OS 5 on your Curve. 

With that being said I'm looking forward to the QNX based "Colt" by BB rumored to be coming out in Spring of 2012.