Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Reply
New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-01-2011
My Device: 9800 Torch
My Carrier: Telus

Blackberry Desktop Software V6.0.2

I just recently joined the RIM Blackberry family. I've installed the latest version of the Blackberry Desktop software, but am having trouble loading the program.

 

I get a Windows error report...

 

"BlackBerry Desktop Software has encountered a problem and needs to close. We are sorry for the inconvenience."

 

Does anyone know what issues the program could be having? I've downloaded the program multiple times, re-installed, repaired, and tried to contact Blackberry. I'm incredibly frustrated. Anyone else having this issue, and possibly knows how to fix this?

Contributor
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎05-03-2011
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Telus

Re: Blackberry Desktop Software V6.0.2

Same problem, let me know if you find a solution

thanks

eric
Forums Advisor III
Posts: 1,069
Registered: ‎04-12-2009
My Device: Samsung Galaxy S II SkyRocket (yes, Android)
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: Blackberry Desktop Software V6.0.2

There are numerous threads similar to this. My best guess is that there is a problem with (or you need to get the latest) Microsoft .Net Runtime libraries.

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-06-2011
My Device: Storm 9520
My Carrier: T-Com Croatia

Re: Blackberry Desktop Software V6.0.2 crash on start after new update

Few weeks ago I update DM from 5 to 6 and at the start the same problem. After I check net and I found solution but after a while I update again DM 6 to new one few days ago and the same error.

Its shame from BB RIM to not solve this for milions of users worldwide.

 

I really cant understand that RIM can give update without testing at all possible PC systems.

 

I try to find this fix but unsecsfully...please help.

 

 

Contributor
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎05-03-2011
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Telus

Re: Blackberry Desktop Software V6.0.2

How would I do that? Not a computor expert just a working guy trying to keep up.

 

Thanks

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-06-2011
My Device: Storm 9520
My Carrier: T-Com Croatia

Re: Blackberry Desktop Software V6.0.2

[ Edited ]

OK I FIND SOLUTION FROM FIRST TIME. I was in January already registered under nick name HONGKONG

and here is solution what work first time. But now after DMupdate again DONT WORK.

 

I had all the same problems as everyone else on this thread, but it was just as simple as renaming Rim.Desktop.Services.PolicyManager.dll to Rim.Desktop.Services.PolicyManager.dll.old and then back to Rim.Desktop.Services.PolicyManager.dll it worked.

 

The file is located in:

C:\Program Files\Research In Motion\BlackBerry Desktop\Modules\

 

I can only say RIM, I never buy again BB units. Bye [keep it courteous please].

Forums Advisor III
Posts: 1,069
Registered: ‎04-12-2009
My Device: Samsung Galaxy S II SkyRocket (yes, Android)
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: Blackberry Desktop Software V6.0.2 crash on start after new update

 


hongkong33 wrote:

I really cant understand that RIM can give update without testing at all possible PC systems.

 

 


I'll bet you can't even LIST, much less setup, "all possible PC systems."

 

Visitor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-06-2011
My Device: Torch 9800
My Carrier: Virgin

Re: Blackberry Desktop Software V6.0.2

Just updated BDM software. Wouldn't start up, applied this trick again. PRESTO!!!! Come on RIM??? What's the gag???

Cheers
New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-07-2011
My Device: Curve 8330
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Blackberry Desktop Software V6.0.2

I get the same message.  I've downloaded the version 6 software twice but the  Desktop says its V4.5.0191.  Can't backup or sync...big probs for me.