Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones


Thank you for visiting the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

BlackBerry will be closing the BlackBerry Support Community Forums Device Forums on April 1st (Developers, see below)

BlackBerry remains committed to providing excellent customer support to our customers. We are delighted to direct you to the CrackBerry Forums, a well-established and thorough support channel, for continued BlackBerry support. Please visit http://forums.crackberry.com or http://crackberry.com/ask. You can also continue to visit BlackBerry Support or the BlackBerry Knowledge Base for official support options available for your BlackBerry Smartphone.

"When we launched CrackBerry.com 10 years ago, we set out to make it a fun and useful destination where BlackBerry Smartphone owners could share their excitement and learn to unleash the full potential of their BlackBerry. A decade later, the CrackBerry community is as active and passionate as ever and I know our knowledgeable members and volunteers will be excited to welcome and assist more BlackBerry owners with their questions."

- Kevin Michaluk, Founder, CrackBerry.com

Developers, for more information about the BlackBerry Developer Community please review Join the Conversation on the BlackBerry Developer Community Forums found on Inside BlackBerry.


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎07-28-2011
My Device: Curve 8520
My Carrier: Virgin Media
Accepted Solution

Blackberry Messenger

I have a Curve 8520 on Virgin Media, it comes with unlimited BBM. I try to add people but they can't see my request and on my BlackBerry it just says pending. And when they try to add me, I can't see there request. Please help!

 

Thanks 

Forums Veteran I
Posts: 2,077
Registered: ‎10-10-2010
My Device: Priv
My Carrier: Three UK

Re: Blackberry Messenger

Is it only BBM that is not working? Are push email, twitter and facebook working if you use them?

 

First step would be a battery pull - remove, wait 30 seconds and reinsert. 

 

If that doesnt cure it try forcing your handset to register on the network again - Options - Advanced Options - Host Routing Tables then press the Menu button and select Register Now. You should get a message in your generic inbox your handset is registed.

 

If the above does not work, give Virgin a call and ensure your Blackberry data has been activated on your account. 

Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎07-28-2011
My Device: Curve 8520
My Carrier: Virgin Media

Re: Blackberry Messenger

Facbook works fine, I don't have mail because that comes unlimited with the tariff. I tryed the first step and there was no change. What's the generic inbox?
Forums Veteran I
Posts: 2,077
Registered: ‎10-10-2010
My Device: Priv
My Carrier: Three UK

Re: Blackberry Messenger

Normally labeled Messages - if the handset registers fine then you should get a message in there like an email/sms telling you it has registered

New Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎07-28-2011
My Device: Curve 8520
My Carrier: Virgin Media

Re: Blackberry Messenger

I've sent a regestration thing but nothing has gone in my inbox.
Forums Veteran I
Posts: 2,077
Registered: ‎10-10-2010
My Device: Priv
My Carrier: Three UK

Re: Blackberry Messenger

if your not getting a confirmation that your handset has been registered on the network it could be your not properly provisioned. Give Virgin a call and check they have activated a Blackberry Data Plan on your account

New Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎07-28-2011
My Device: Curve 8520
My Carrier: Virgin Media

Re: Blackberry Messenger

Does unlimited bbm & mail count as a blackberry data plan?
Forums Veteran I
Posts: 2,077
Registered: ‎10-10-2010
My Device: Priv
My Carrier: Three UK

Re: Blackberry Messenger

Virgin Mobile may call it something else, but yes - that should be a Blackberry Data Plan. It needs to be activated on your account to allow your phone access to the Blackberry Servers. 

New Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎07-28-2011
My Device: Curve 8520
My Carrier: Virgin Media

Re: Blackberry Messenger

Thanks for the help! I rang up and it wasn't properly provisioned. Thanks again! Smiley Happy