Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

New Contributor
My Device: blackberry 9700
My Carrier: smart telecom

Re: Blackberry Protect - Locating Phone--INVASION OF PRIVACY?

[ Edited ]

Please email to <removed>     ---- if possible..

EDIT: Personal Information such as e-mail is prohibited for your security. Please review User Guidelines  under section "Be careful."

Guru I
My Device: Passport, Playbook, 9320BES
My Carrier: Bouygues _ SFR

[ Edited ]

rockstarpig1 wrote:

Hi, I am new to blackberry and I have noticed Blackberry Protect feature installed on my BB 9700. I was given this phone and I have been told that the "protect" feature is used to track me down. I think that is quite unfair and should not be and I was wondering how I can disable this feature. Moreso, I was told that it saves data, can my text messages be traced and read/saved for other people to read it if found access to it? If so, how do I disable this feature and live a normal private life? I would like to be normal without the feeling of somebody watching 24/7.....

Pls help...

Hello rockstarpig1,

I understand that you are concerned about your privacy and I wish more people would care as much as you do. But there are a lot of wrong information in your post. Please let me explain one point at a time.

First, why are you concerned ?

Research in Motion is a company that sells smartphones and tablets (and accessories). Unlike companies like Google or Facebook or Microsoft, RIM does not focus on your data at all, they only focus on your money Smiley Happy

Second why was BlackBerry Protect created ?