Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Contributor
My Device: Not Specified
Accepted Solution

Bluetooth: Blackberry Device Manager -OR- "Bluetooth Devices" in Control Panel?

I'm a BB newbie but computer savvy user who is slowly finding the pieces to the overall concepts of how my Blackberry fits in with USB, Bluetooth, local apps, e-mail servers etc.  (Any links to BB concepts rather than step-by-step instructions appreciated!)

Here is my current issue: to connect my BB to my PC via Bluetooth it seems there are two places I can do it: either in the "Bluetooth Devices" item in the Windows Control Panel -OR- in Blackberry Device Manager on the Device Connection tab with the "Configure Bluetooth" button.

Both of these bring up very similar windows which allow me to "Add" a Bluetooth device, but they are clearly different apps.  What is the difference?  Are they for the same purpose? Or do they do entirely different things such as connect headsets to BB vs. connect BB to PC?

(Vista Business 32-bit; Dell D630 with BT; BB 8830) 

Thanks,

Ian

Trusted Contributor
My Device: 8320, 8120

Re: Bluetooth: Blackberry Device Manager -OR- "Bluetooth Devices" in Control Panel?

Hi ianw.

Here is a link for you to look over:

Set up Bluetooth connectivity with BlackBerry Desktop Manager

There really isn't an option to pair the device in bluetooth devices or BlackBerry device manager, you must first pair the device with the computer using the Bluetooth devices option in control panel, then you set the BlackBerry device manager to use that Bluetooth connection to communicate with the Desktop Manager.

The KB I linked provides you with step by step instructions.

Cheers!

Contributor

Re: Bluetooth: Blackberry Device Manager -OR- "Bluetooth Devices" in Control Panel?