Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

New Contributor
My Device: Bold 9000
My Carrier: Orange Switzerland

Bold 9780 showing only SOS signal

I have been using my Bold 9780 for the past 18 months without any problem.  But recently it stopped connecting to the mobile network, and shows only the SOS signal.  It does connect to the wifi, and all other functions seem to be working okay.   I tried with different SIM cards with different providers with the same result.  These SIM cards are working fine with other handsets.  Any help or suggestions to solve this problem would be greatly appreciated.  Thanks.

Forums Veteran III
My Device: Z30 / Playbook

Re: Bold 9780 showing only SOS signal

Can you take the phone and sims to the store or authorized repair shop?  You did some good troubleshooting.  Not sure what could be causing this issue.  Another option is to call customer support from another phone if possible.

My Device: BlackBerry Z30
My Carrier: Rogers

Just before trying Wolf359's suggestion, try registering your phone on the network again.  To do this, follow Options>Device>Advanced System Settings>Host Routing Table>(Menu Key)>Register Now.

If that doesn't work, Wolf's suggestion is the way to go.  Smiley Happy

- If my response has helped you, please click "Options" beside my post and mark it as solved. Clicking the "thumbs up" icon near the bottom of my response would also be appreciated.

New Contributor

BillJ wrote:

Just before trying Wolf359's suggestion, try registering your phone on the network again.  To do this, follow Options>Device>Advanced System Settings>Host Routing Table>(Menu Key)>Register Now.

If that doesn't work, Wolf's suggestion is the way to go.  Smiley Happy