Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Posts: 14
Registered: ‎05-09-2010
My Device: 9930

Bold 9930 Software

I've had my Bold 9930 for two weeks and it's terrific. However, about the fourth day, when doing a sync with my PC, I got a message saying that some applications were updated but I had not completed the process and asking if I wanted to complete that process as well. Not exactly sure what was at stake, but believing that maybe some of the preloaded applications somehow needed to be updated (I have no additional applications, and in fact removed several of the preloaded applications), I clicked yes, got a message saying the process would take 30 minutes or more, and then watched (in somewhat horror, and as best as I could tell) that what was happening is that not only my data, but all of the software was being removed, was being temporarily stored on my PC, was then being reconfigured and/or updated and was then being reloaded. Fortunately all of my settings were restored (other than the wallpaper, which was one of the built-in alternatives so was easy for me to restore). However, the device then required me to totally re-register with Verizon and BlackBerry. That was a pain but I went through it all. But that's when I found a lot of the icons were missing and worse, the menu key was no longer functioning properly -- that is, most of the menu functions weren't showing up with each of the standard applications (that is, email, calendar, etc.). So I powered the device down and back, but that didn't work. So I shut it down again and this time removed and returned the battery, and fortunately all the icons were back and everything seemed to be functioning as normal again, including the various menu functions. My point is: Be warned about clicking "ok" if the system wants to update your applications. And if, because of that process or other processes, you find that many of the standard icons are missing and/or the menu key is not pulling up the proper menu options, do the old "remove and return battery" step. Has anyone else encountered this rather unhappy go-round? Did I really need to allow my preloaded applications to be updated? Any other similar experiences and/or advice if this happens again to me?