Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-06-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Bold for Sprint

I did google searches to find out if this is coming on Sprint. The articles said sept 2008 but it seems like its not available for sprint yet. Does anyone know if it is? If not, when?

 

I also heard stuff about unlocked phones. I'm not sure what that means, i have no experience in this area. I'm assuming it means the phone is hacked to work with other providers. Is this easy to do? What pros and cons does it come with?

 

Price is not a big factor for me here, but i'd rather not change providers if its possible.  

Posts: 95,198
Likes: 24,505
Solutions: 6,380
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Bold for Sprint

There was never any plan for Sprint to get the Bold, and there still isn't rumors of Sprint getting it, although possible, just not soon.


1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-06-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Bold for Sprint

There are many websites that said it was coming for Verizon and Sprint.

 

Anyways.. My main question is more about what "unlocking" is all about. 

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-06-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Bold for Sprint

Nevermind my question about what unlocking is..

 

 

Will unlocking my phone allow me to use it with sprint? Since sprint uses CDMA i'm not sure how this would work.  

Highlighted
Posts: 95,198
Likes: 24,505
Solutions: 6,380
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Bold for Sprint

1. I read and observe many BlackBerry-related websites--never saw one that said it was coming to Sprint.

 

2. You can't. Sprint and CDMA networks require only their devices on their network.

 

3. The Bold is a GSM device. Not compatible on the Sprint CDMA network.

 

Sorry.



1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code