Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-05-2010
My Device: Torch 9800
My Carrier: Zain
Accepted Solution

Browser Access

I purchased a Torch 9800 from Zain Communications, the carrier in Kuwait, last week. I've spent every day with their tech support people giving me every wrong reason why I can not connect through the browser. (I get an error message saying I need to contact the provider). I can get Facebook through the application, but nothing  when selecting Browser. Generally whenever I call their solution is to pull the battery. Finally someone tells me to go to Zains authorized repair shop (Mobile 2000) where they barely speak english. They show me a listing of people with exactly the same problem, it is multiple pages long. The repair people tell me that no matter what SIMM chip I use (other carriers) I will have the same problem. I've updated the software to .246, all of the right selections have been made in setup. I'm ready to go to Android...any solutions other than that?

Highlighted
Regular Contributor
Posts: 85
Registered: ‎01-28-2010
My Device: Bold 9000
My Carrier: Etisalat Egy.

Re: Browser Access

i've been trying to let people know this problem is all over the arab countries...follow this steps to solve it and try telling the repair shop with the list of people having the same problem:

 first  I put my data plan sim card into my BB Torch and registed into a network in my case Etisalat. Then I took out of the Torch and put in another BB I used my BB bold  where i can use my data sim card. I waited for like 6 minutes and waited until i was able to use the browser on my BB bold, then I went to Options, Device, advanced system settings, and Host Routing Table, then pressed the menu button the one with the little bb sign and pressed register now. after I recieved the message saying i have been registered to a wireless network i went to Options, Service Books, and inside this folder I pressed and held ALT while I typed these letters sbeb yes there  you should see Legacy SB Restore Enabled just press ok and then connect to desktop manager and back up only the service books, you can choose what you want to back up in the custom settings just choose Service books and write browser configs for Torch so you know which one to use.

Then I took the sim card out of my BB bold and put it in my Torch, once the torch turned on i went to Options, Device, Service Books, and in the folder I typed again while pressing ALT sbeb as i did before and pressed ok. Then connected the torch to Desktop manager and restored  the file you create with the name Browser configs for my Torch, then I shut off the torch and when I turned now voila I was able to use my browser.

1. Please thank those who help you by clicking the white star in the black box to the left of the post.
2. If your issue has been solved, please resolve it by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-05-2010
My Device: Torch 9800
My Carrier: Zain

Re: Browser Access

Thanks!

 I'll borrow back my Curve, I just sold, and give this a whirl.

RIM needs to get involved in this situation over here. A lot of Torches are being sold as if nothing is wrong and RIM is having a LOT of unsatisfied customers and the dealers are saying nothing about it. I was about ready to go get an HTC.

Regular Contributor
Posts: 85
Registered: ‎01-28-2010
My Device: Bold 9000
My Carrier: Etisalat Egy.

Re: Browser Access

yeah well actually no one knows about it..only a few i suppose i had the same problem here in egypt and even the guy who sold it to me had no explanation. i did everything to try and find out whats going on ..but the best i can think off is the torch has some new service books that doesn't work with carries in arab countries thats why the cant send us service books, we have to manually transfer them from a previous phone...

try out the steps it will work....and if u can tell people with the same problem, that would be great Smiley Wink

good luck.

1. Please thank those who help you by clicking the white star in the black box to the left of the post.
2. If your issue has been solved, please resolve it by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-22-2010
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Browser Access

I followed these instructions to the letter and my browser still will not work over the network. Should I try again or give up. If this BB browser never works over the network, how do I make one of the two third party browsers my default browser?

New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-27-2010
My Device: Blackberry Torch
My Carrier: Telefonica

Re: Browser Access

My problem was solved, but after a few minutes the browser does not work again. i don't know how disable the service book restore.

Contributor
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎12-19-2010
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Orange

Browser Access

Hello

I have just read your report on browser and I have here a concern, I hope you would be able to shed some light.

I got my BB from a friend in the US which is unlocked and I am using a Orange as a carrier. It is my first BB; I am an iPhone fan, but wanted to try the BB

I noticed that my browser is linked to my carrier even though I am hooked to wifi and all is working fine. I am just worried whether  data is being pulled from my carrier or from wifi, that's for browser.

 

Also, I want to download Arabic language and change my touch screen to become bilingual. Is there a way? please let me know

 

Many thanks