Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones


Thank you for visiting the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

BlackBerry will be closing the BlackBerry Support Community Forums Device Forums on April 1st (Developers, see below)

BlackBerry remains committed to providing excellent customer support to our customers. We are delighted to direct you to the CrackBerry Forums, a well-established and thorough support channel, for continued BlackBerry support. Please visit http://forums.crackberry.com or http://crackberry.com/ask. You can also continue to visit BlackBerry Support or the BlackBerry Knowledge Base for official support options available for your BlackBerry Smartphone.

"When we launched CrackBerry.com 10 years ago, we set out to make it a fun and useful destination where BlackBerry Smartphone owners could share their excitement and learn to unleash the full potential of their BlackBerry. A decade later, the CrackBerry community is as active and passionate as ever and I know our knowledgeable members and volunteers will be excited to welcome and assist more BlackBerry owners with their questions."

- Kevin Michaluk, Founder, CrackBerry.com

Developers, for more information about the BlackBerry Developer Community please review Join the Conversation on the BlackBerry Developer Community Forums found on Inside BlackBerry.


Reply
Contributor
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎03-04-2012
My Device: BlackBerry Playbook 64 GB
My Carrier: The Mobile

Camera failure on 9900

I lost my camera! When I try to start the camera I get an error message saying " cannot start the camera. close other applications and try again" 

Blackberry Bold 9900

OS 7.1

I've tried closing all apps but it doesn't help. I wish Blackberry put more operational memory in their devices!

Highlighted
Guru II
Posts: 22,044
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: BlackBerry PRIV; BlackBerry Z30, Z10 and Q10 w/OS 10.3.2.2639; PlayBook w/OS 2.1.0.1917
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: Camera failure on 9900

This usually indicates a defective camera. Some have been successful in pushing down on the camera lens area to try and reseat the camera. It doesn't work every time but has been known to work a fair amount.

if it doesn't work after that you may want to contact your carrier for warranty service.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1. Please thank those who help you by clicking the "Like" button at the bottom of the post that helped you.
2. If your issue has been solved, please resolve it by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
Contributor
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎03-04-2012
My Device: BlackBerry Playbook 64 GB
My Carrier: The Mobile

Re: Camera failure on 9900

Thanks. It didn't help but I'll take it in to T-Mobile.
Guru I
Posts: 19,020
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Passport, Playbook, 9320BES
My Carrier: Bouygues _ SFR

Re: Camera failure on 9900

read:

 

KB15544 "Could not launch camera application" error appears when opening the camera on the BlackBerry smartphone




The search box on top-right of this page is your true friend, and the public Knowledge Base too:
New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-01-2013
My Device: Bold 9930
My Carrier: Sprint

Re: Camera failure on 9900

[ Edited ]

I have a BB Bold 9930 with the same camera problem.  I tried restarting the phone, pressing against the lens without success.  It is frustrating.  I don't know if ScanBar has anything to do with it, since ScanBar uses the camera too.

Matt Eshaiker

<removed>

Irvine, CALIFORNIA

 

EDIT: Personal Information such as e-mail is prohibited for your security. Please review User Guidelines  under section "Be careful."

Guru II
Posts: 22,044
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: BlackBerry PRIV; BlackBerry Z30, Z10 and Q10 w/OS 10.3.2.2639; PlayBook w/OS 2.1.0.1917
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: Camera failure on 9900

I have seen this problem with BB cameras since BB first started putting cameras in the BB. It's not a widespread problem but it does happen. When it does happen I've never seen it be a software problem or that too many programs were open. It's always been a hardware problem.

Contact Sprint and see if you can get the device replaced under warranty (if it's less than a year old.)

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1. Please thank those who help you by clicking the "Like" button at the bottom of the post that helped you.
2. If your issue has been solved, please resolve it by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!